Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Tough Stuff

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects:

  1. Looking for Alaska by John Green: I won’t go into what the specific subject is because I don’t want to spoil it for the people on this planet who don’t know, but this book changed my life.
  2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: A book about teenagers with cancer shouldn’t have been funny, but somehow it was. I laughed as I was crying. It was attractive.
  3. All These Lives by Sarah Wylie: And for another version of the teen cancer theme, we have a book told from the POV of the cancer patient’s twin sister. Dani, the narrator, isn’t very likeable, but she was realistic, and that was important.
  4. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson: This is a book that every single person ever should read. End of story.
  5. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta: Everyone warned me about the first 100 pages; no one warned me about the last 100. Taylor and her search for her drug addict mother who abandoned her grew on me, and I didn’t realize until I finished the book just how much I loved it.
  6. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: I haven’t stopped thinking about this book since I read it last year. I think it’s a really interesting twist to cast a sympathetic Death as the narrator.
  7. Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler: This book also appeared on my “light and fun” list last week. I think the beach read quality to this one is probably what makes it such a great book for this subject.
  8. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares: Like Twenty Boy Summer, this one is deceptive. It’s another great beach read, but it also touches on a lot of sensitive subjects – grief, sexuality, family – in a really accessible way.
  9. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie: Junior uses his cartoons and sense of humor to navigate the tensions of growing up on an Indian reservation while attending the local high school in town.
  10. The DUFF by Kody Keplinger: This is one of the few books I’ve come across dealing with teen female sexuality, which is unfortunate, because it does a great job exploring the main character, Bianca’s, reasons for pursuing a meaningless relationship with popular boy Wesley.

What are your favorite books dealing with tougher subjects?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Tough Stuff”

  1. Looks like I ought to make a detour or two after I finish my Jefferson biographies and before I start James Madison… Interesting list!

  2. While I had worldview issues with THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, I give John Green kudos for finding an engaging way of dealing with a very difficult topic. He manages to be sensitive and brutally honest, heart-rending and funny. Very hard to do.

    Good choices, Stephanie.

  3. Of those, I’ve read only two. The DUFF and Twenty Boy Summer. Both were pretty special, but The DUFF wins out. Read it a couple of years back and it still resonates with me. The Fault in Our Stars is sitting on my bookcase waiting to be devoured, and I have The Book Thief on audio reserved at the library. Will let you know my thoughts on both when I’m done, lovely. 🙂

  4. Believe it or not I have all of these books on my tbr. And I haven’t read them yet. I think some of my friends are going to go crazy – they recommended Jellicoe Road so many times to me, but I have such a hard time picking up a book that deals with a tough subject. I usually end up loving them, but starting them is… well tough. 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT.

  5. This is a great idea for a blog post. You got me thinking about books I’ve read and which ones cover the most difficult subjects. I was particularly interested in your inclusion of the Traveling Pants. At first I thought “no way” but then as you explained the choice and I recalled the book, I definitely saw your point.

Leave a Reply

