Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Book Covers

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Favorite Covers of Books I’ve Read:

JELLICOE ROAD by Melina Marchetta
JELLICOE ROAD by Melina Marchetta
A GREAT AND TERRIBLE BEAUTY by Libba Bray
A GREAT AND TERRIBLE BEAUTY by Libba Bray
THE DISENCHANTMENTS by Nina LaCour
THE DISENCHANTMENTS by Nina LaCour
SPLINTERED by A.G. Howard
SPLINTERED by A.G. Howard
ALLEGIANCE by Cayla Kluver
ALLEGIANCE by Cayla Kluver
THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT by Veronica Rossi
THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT by Veronica Rossi
THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by John Green
THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by John Green
THE BOOK THIEF by Markus Zusak
THE BOOK THIEF by Markus Zusak
SPEAK by Laurie Halse Anderson
SPEAK by Laurie Halse Anderson
WITHER by Lauren DeStefano
WITHER by Lauren DeStefano

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can’t say what exactly draws me to a cover. Sometimes it’s that they’re pleasing to the eye – the covers are the only reason I read A Great and Terrible Beauty and Wither. Sometimes it’s the colors, like with The Disenchantments and The Fault in Our Stars. Sometimes I just think the cover is powerful – The Book Thief and Speak are the obvious ones at a glance, but the true power in Jellicoe Road‘s cover isn’t something you’d get unless you’ve read the book, although it is one attractive cover. And sometimes, I really just like colors, like with Through the Ever Night.

What are your favorite book covers? What sorts of things make a book cover catch your eye?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Book Covers”

  1. You’ve got some great covers here. SPLINTERED in particular has always stood out to me and I think it’s because of the bold colours. I liked TAKEN a lot for that reason as well. My reasons for liking a cover tend to vary with each cover, so like you, I’m not sure I can actually pin down what it is that grabs my attention across the board.

    1. Taken crossed my mind! As did Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken. I was trying to encompass covers from all across the board, though, which is why they didn’t end up on the list.

  2. Great choices! I love THE DISENCHANTMENT’s cover so much and I’m sad they changed it for the paperback. Boo. JELLICOE’s cover is beautiful in its simplicity, and THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT is beautiful in its featuring of Perry. 😉

    1. They changed The Disenchantments for the paperback? That’s sad-making, because the original cover was so perfect! I guess I’ll just buy it for my Kindle so I won’t have to look at it…

Leave a Reply

