What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday

WUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. It’s hosted by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk.

What I’m Reading:

I’m currently wrapping up Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by R.L. LaFevers (better known to most of you as the author of the unbelievably awesome Grave Mercy and Dark Triumph). It’s a really fun read and I’ll most likely read the rest of the series, but I definitely prefer her YA books. I’ve been trying to read more middle grade because of my aspiration to teach middle school, but I definitely prefer YA in general because kissing.

I also started reading Uses for Boys by Erica Lorraine Scheidt. I was already planning to read it for the Debut Author Challenge, but the whole kerfluffle around it piqued my interest, as well.

What I’m Writing:

I’m still trying to draft FIRE, although my main focus has returned to SHARDS and polishing that up since I got one set of CP notes back and the things Caitlin pointed out were things I was thinking I should fix. (Also, huge props to Caitlin for taking time away from her schoolwork to give me a lightning-fast crit. Although it sounds like I might have been doing her a favor, heh.)

Unless Laura and/or Darcy find things distressingly wrong with SHARDS, I’m planning to query this summer.

What Inspires Me Right Now:

I’ve been super frustrated with FIRE, but I dug out an anthology of primary sources about the Spanish Inquisition I kept from college because I’m a huge nerd and it’s been helping me get excited about the story again. I’m hoping to finish the first draft this summer.

What Else I’ve Been Up To:

Working. Trying not to freak out about cover letters, which are actually more terrifying to me than querying. (In fact, querying sounds downright relaxing compared to applying for jobs.) Catching up on all of my TV shows now that they’re all over for the season and not being sorry at all that I spammed Twitter with my Grey’s tweets last night.

It’s an exciting life I lead.

‘Sup?

19 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. There are comparisons between applying for work and querying. In a sense, both are job applications. But querying can be a lot more fun/exciting/excruciating, and getting an agent (as least from what I can tell as someone who doesn’t yet have one) can be a lot more personally meaningful than landing a job. You agent becomes your advocate, your guide through the world of publishing, and the one who will do all he/she can to help you succeed as a writer. Your job isn’t nearly as committed to you as your agent. 🙂

    I wish you all the best with both job and agent hunting, Stephanie! 🙂

  2. “I definitely prefer YA in general because kissing.” Haha! Yes. That is one of the main reasons I prefer YA, so you’re not alone. I didn’t realize that R. L. LaFevers had written books other than YA.

    Happy to hear that things are coming along well with your WIP and that you’re planning on querying this summer. With any luck, I’ll be back in that boat again this summer, too. And I can’t decide which is worse, cover letters or query letters. I guess in many respects they’re very similar. Good luck with yours, Stephanie! 🙂

    1. I didn’t know she’d written other books until recently – I think someone mentioned it on Twitter or something. The first one is really cute!

      The downside to cover letters is that I have to talk about myself. I hate talking about myself. I’d rather talk about my book!

  3. oooh, spanish inquisition– a scary time, but ripe with possibilities for stories. Can’t wait to hear how that goes. Good luck on writing/querying and the job hunt. All are stressful but exciting, too.

  4. “I definitely prefer YA in general because kissing.” << Well, this pretty much sums up my philosophy. Good luck on your two WIPs! I'm gearing up to query very soon, so at this moment in time, I have to say query letters are more nerve-wracking than cover letters. 🙂

  5. I’ve kept a lot of my reference books from college, and even a few from high school. I call it “research”, and pretend that it’s not because I am a giant nerd. *high five*

      1. I keep my notes, too, although sometimes I wonder if it’s for the information or the rather spectacular doodles. 🙂

  6. I didn’t realize that Robin LaFevers was the author of the Theodosia books. I haven’t read them, but I’ve seen them at the book store. I love GRAVE MERCY, and I’m reading DARK TRIUMPH right now. Like you, I think I’d prefer her YA books because of the smooching, especially when it involves Gavriel Duval, because hello, he’s at the top of my book boyfriend list lol! 🙂

  7. I have to say: job hunting is infinitely more terrifying than querying. Maybe I’ve grown accustomed to having my heart crushed by querying, or maybe I’m more optimistic about that, or maybe it’s a combination of the two. Either way–as job hunting is still very much on my radar–I completely feel your pain. 🙂

    1. For me, being rejected by jobs feels way more personal than having my book rejected would be – they’re rejected me as opposed to something I created.

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who prefers querying 🙂

  8. Ha, me too on preferring YA because of the kissing! But I want to branch out in my reading (i.e. not just YA and Regency romance) so I’ve promised to read more MG and nonfic this year. I actually bought the first Theodosia book and am looking forward to that as well as Steph Burgis’s last Kat Stephenson book.

    Good luck with the job hunt!

    1. I’ve stayed away from nonfiction the past year because I was scarred from college (so. many. history. books.) but since I get so many of my ideas from history, I’m trying to get back into it.

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

