Book Reviews

Review: Gone Girl

Gone GirlGone Girl by Gillian Flynn

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

My initial reaction on finishing Gone Girl was, “Um, WHAT did I just read?”

I still have no idea. But that doesn’t change the fact that this book was so full of twists and turns, I couldn’t put it down. Or that I had very strong feelings about some of the characters. Or that the voices of both Amy and Nick were amazing. Basically, this book had all the things I loved, so even though I couldn’t actually comprehend what I’d just read, I thought it was amazing. (My brains were sort of on the floor at that point in time. Bear with me.)

I love me some plot twists, especially plot twists I don’t see coming ahead of time. I guessed part of the Big Twist, but what I didn’t see coming was the full extent of it. Throughout the book, every time I – and Nick and Amy – thought I had things figured out, someone would do something, just to prove none of us knew what was going on.

I had very strong feelings about the characters, particularly Amy and Nick. I liked Amy at first, but I came to hate her by the end of the book – we’re talking all-consuming, Joffrey-level hate here. I can’t really go into the specifics because it’ll spoil the book, but those of you who have read the book can probably think of a few things to fill in the blanks. That being said, as much as I hated Amy, her voice was spot on, and I did have an excellent time reading (and being morbidly fascinated by) her thoughts.

On the other hand, I did like Nick, and I even felt sorry for him, despite some of his questionable actions. His voice was also spot on, and it was distinct enough from Amy’s (oh goodness I would hope so) that it was really easy to figure out who was narrating right away. Nick struck me as a big puppy dog, and I could sort of see why Amy might get bored with him.

It was really hard to write this review because I was trying so hard not to include spoilers! But if you’re into watching messed-up people toy with each other, or if you’re into having your mind messed with, then this is a book for you.

View all my reviews

1 thought on “Review: Gone Girl”

  1. I have heard so much about this book, and not yet read it. I will have to bite the bullet I suppose. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

