Book Reviews

Review: Jellicoe Road

Jellicoe RoadJellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

There are two books I can think of that made me cry more than Jellicoe Road: The Fault in Our Stars and The Book Thief. I’m warning you all now, because while everyone warned me about the first 100 pages, no one warned me about the last 100.

I actually didn’t mind the first 100 pages. I was a little confused, but it was an acceptable level of confused, an intrigued level. I knew the two stories fit together somehow, but it wasn’t until just past page 100 that we figure out what that second narrative actually is. I think the two story threads were woven together very well, and while I figured certain things out relatively early on, I was still invested enough in Taylor’s story that I wanted to watch her figure things out, as well.

I didn’t actually realize how much I loved Jellicoe Road until it was over, when I was left with the crushing realization that there were no more pages to turn. Without realizing it, I came to care for all of the characters – Taylor and Jonah, Narnie and Jude, and everyone else. I sort of wanted to reread the book right away, just to be with these characters again.

And the writing? All I have to say is it’s beautiful.

If you love contemporary – or even if you don’t – you need to read Jellicoe Road.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Jellicoe Road”

Leave a Reply

