Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Surprise!

RTWRoad Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic: What’s been your most surprising read of the year so far—the book you weren’t sure about going in that really swept you off your feet?

Well, right now I’m reading Stephenie Meyer’s The Host, which I’d be tempted to pick if I were further into it. It’s been nothing but a pleasant surprise so far, which makes me think that Twilight – or whoever edited it – did her a disservice because she’s actually a good writer. Also, the whole alien thing is fascinating. Between this and Trisha Leigh’s Whispers in Autumn, I might be starting to change my mind about aliens…

Anyway. I should probably choose a book I actually did complete. I’ve got two for you:

I didn’t know what to expect from Splintered, which is what surprised me the most about how much I loved it. Even if retellings aren’t your thing, you’ll love the simultaneously dark and whimsical world, the characters, and the beautiful writing.

11699055While I really, really like contemporaries, I don’t usually LOVE them. Which is why I was so surprised when I LOVED The Disenchantments. I loved the characters, especially Colby, who was confused and really just wanted to figure things out. I loved the friendship among the band members. I loved the setting, but I might be biased in that (however, I’m not biased in saying LaCour did a great job bringing Northern California and Oregon to life). There was one reason, and one reason alone for me putting this book down, and that reason was football.

What are your most surprising reads so far this year?

13 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Surprise!

  1. I could not agree more with you about THE HOST. It is a far superior work than any of the TWILIGHT books. Honestly, I keep hoping she’ll write more books that follow THE HOST. I still have to read my copy of SPLINTERED, but I’m really looking forward to it! 🙂

  2. I loved Alice in Wonderland, and I didn’t realize that SPLINTERED was a retelling of sorts. The cover has caught my eye a few times, but now I’m interested!

  3. Those both sound really cool! I’ll have to add them to my list. 🙂 I wasn’t a big fan of THE HOST when I read it, for a few reasons. I love the characters a lot more and the alien concept was interesting, but it felt really slow to me and I have some issues with the ending. Won’t say more than that because I don’t want to spoil anything. 🙂

  4. I’m tempted to say that Stephanie Meyers ought to be a better writer by now, after all those TWILIGHT books… but maybe you’re right and the editors did her a disservice.

    I’ve seen THE DISENCHANTMENTS recommended before, but I’ve not heard of SPLINTERED. I’m always open to read beautiful writing, so I’ll keep an eye out for that one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

