Book Reviews

Review: Pretty Little Liars

Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars, #1)Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I read Pretty Little Liars because my sister told me to watch the TV show, but I refuse to watch the TV show until I’ve read the books. I didn’t have very high expectations, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Pretty Little Liars is deliciously trashy, which is one of the things that kept me reading. There were a couple times when I texted my sister and said, “Wait, WHAT?” because these girls make some very questionable decisions. (My sister’s response was, “Don’t bother with the books why are you reading them STAHP.” Or something along those lines.) But once I told the more analytical part of my brain to pipe down, the book was fun.

I wasn’t super keen on the characters. I didn’t really care about Aria or Spencer’s storylines, I actively despised Hanna and Ali, and I was interested in Emily’s storyline, but not to the point where I was willing to throw down if things didn’t go the way I wanted them to. Honestly, the characters were my least favorite part of the book.

The mystery was really intriguing, though. Or should I say mysteries? The first mystery revolves around what happened to Ali, something that hangs over each of the other girls’ heads even though they’re not friends anymore. The second mystery is about who “A” is, and why she’s threatening to spill their secrets (and how does “A” know the secrets, to begin with)? I actually have no ideas, and wanting to find out the answers to my questions is enough to make me want to read the next book in the series.

If you’re looking for something as filling as Gossip Girl or The Selection but want a little added suspense, Pretty Little Liars would be a good fit for you.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Pretty Little Liars”

Leave a Reply

