Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Travel

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books Featuring Travel:

  1. Just One Day by Gayle Forman: While I would like to go to Paris, I wasn’t dying to go there. (I mean, it’s not England or Italy, which are my top two.) And then I read Just One Day.
  2. The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour: I’ve always thought road tripping with friends would be fun. Also, this book does a great job bringing Northern California and Oregon to life without excessive rain or hipsters.
  3. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins: Paris is its own character in this book. It couldn’t not make this list.
  4. Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien: I’m just going to leave this one here.
  5. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert: I’m not usually a memoir person, but I loved this one. I loved how Gilbert brought all of the places she visited to life, as well as connecting it to her spiritual journey.
  6. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken: I’d love to road trip with Ruby, Liam, Chubs, and Zu. But without the people hunting us. (Honorable mention: Bracken’s other book, Brightly Woven.)
  7. Across the Universe by Beth Revis: Worst intergalactic trip ever.
  8. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan: If you haven’t spent a cross-country road trip being chased by mosters and Greek gods, you’re not trying hard enough.
  9. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: The restaurant in Amsterdam scene made me so hungry. If/when I go to Europe someday, I’ll probably be too busy eating to do anything else.
  10. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon: Jamie. That is all.

What are your favorite books featuring travel?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Travel

  1. You’ve got some great books on this list that I wouldn’t immediately think of as travel books, but they totally are. (ACROSS THE UNIVERSE, for whatever reason, didn’t immediately spring to mind.) And yes, Jamie is reason enough to read OUTLANDER. And then some. 😉

  2. LOL, I love your descriptions, Stephanie! Especially the one for ACROSS THE UNIVERSE.
    You’ve got a great mix of genres here. I’ll admit that I first thought of A WRINKLE IN TIME when seeing the question, because I haven’t read many of the real-life-roadtrip books.

  3. Definitely agree with you on Just One Day and Anna and the French Kiss.
    And ohh, The Darkest Minds has traveling in it? Good to hear!
    Great list & thanks for stopping by my TTT! (:

Leave a Reply

