Book Reviews

Review: Alanna: The First Adventure

Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness, #1)Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Tamora Pierce’s Tortall books are some of my favorite books ever, which is why it’s always dangerous to reread any of them because once I reread one, I want to reread ALL OF THEM.

Alanna: The First Adventure is an amazing story about friendship, magic, and adventure, period. This is something I’ve only appreciated more each time I’ve read it. One of my favorite parts of the book is watching Alan(na) make friends without even realizing what she’s doing, just by being herself (well, aside from the obvious, I guess). In this respect, it would be a good book to recommend to kids who’ve finished Harry Potter and want to know what to read next.

The other thing I especially love about Alanna is how fully realized Tortall is, which is even more impressive since the book is less than 300 pages long. Pierce easily integrates the different aspects of Tortall to make it realistic without info dumping, which is something I’m still in awe of.

My advice: if you haven’t read this book yet, do yourself a favor and pick up a copy. Even if you’re not a fantasy fan – and it’ll only take you a couple hours to get through it, so why not try something different?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

