Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: 2013 So Far

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2013:

  1. Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta: While I wish I’d waited to read the other two books until this one was out so I could read them all back to back, I did love this one beyond words and it was a really satisfying conclusion.
  2. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta: So many feels. [Review]
  3. Grave Mercy and Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers: Not only are the assassin nuns awesome, but the character development is, as well. And if you love political intrigue, this one is for you. [Reviews here and here]
  4. Easy by Tammara Webber: Lucas ❤ [Review]
  5. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson: I loved how different Elisa is from a lot of the YA heroines I’ve seen. It was refreshing watching her struggle to find her inner rockstar, which is something a lot of teen girls will be able to relate to. [Review]
  6. Prodigy by Marie Lu: The stakes are even higher in this one, and I loved every minute of it. [Review]
  7. Broken at Love by Lyla Payne: I know I’m beating a dead horse with this one, but seriously, go read it, especially if you’re not normally into contemporary romances. Emile will be a smart enough heroine to win you over. [Review]
  8. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken: I read this one in January and I’M STILL NOT OKAY. [Review]
  9. Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi: Well, Perry, obviously. Also, we get to see tons of Roar, which is always a plus.
  10. The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour: I didn’t expect to love this one as much as I did because it’s a contemporary, but that just goes to show you can’t judge a book by its genre.

What are your favorite reads of 2013 so far?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2013 So Far”

  1. Ooh, you have some good ones. I’m proud to say that through my immense ‘Catch Up on All the Good YA I’ve Missed by Not Being A Good Reader The Past Few Years’ project I mostly know what you’re talking about!

    First, though, a confession… I keep seeing friends raving about Grave Mercy, and I thought the beginning was brilliant, but some what I felt was clunkiness when she arrived at the monastery totally put me off my game. I guess I need to re-approach it?

    My list is very similar to yours. In no particular order:

    1. The Darkest Minds
    2. Imaginary Girls
    3. The Casual Vacancy
    4. Bitterblue/Graceling
    5. The Fault in Our Stars
    6. White Cat Series
    7. Neverwhere/American Gods
    8. Girl of Fire and Thorns
    9. Quintana of Charyn
    10. Seraphina

    …Yeah, you see how I had to double-up some there? Been reading lots of great books lately 🙂

    1. When Ismae arrived at the monastery felt clunky to me, too, but once she leaves is where things really pick up, so that made up for the beginning for me. (I also tend to finish every book I start, so that helped me here.)

      I still haven’t read Graceling, although it’s staring at me right now so I’m going to get to it soon…

  2. Gahhhh!! I need to read The Darkest Minds so badly. It’s on my Summer TBR list though, so I should get to it soon. SO EXCITED. I loved TTEN and Prodigy as well. Great picks this week!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT 🙂

  3. A big huge yes to #3 and #9! Duval, Beast, Perry, and Roar top my list of favorite male characters to read about. And I loved pretty much everything else about those books too, obviously. 🙂

Leave a Reply

