What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #5

WUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

I finished Beowulf. I also finished The Elite and was generally unimpressed by it. Right now I’m reading Breaking Beautiful by Jennifer Shaw Wolf and while I like it, I don’t love it. Yet.

What I’m Writing

Hey, remember last week when I said I’d probably have a really productive week because I didn’t get very many hours at work? JUSTready-set-write-button KIDDING. I ended up working a ridiculous amount of hours this weekend, which is happy-making for my bank account, but not so much for my word counts.

I was able to polish up three more chapters of SHARDS, then realized I should add another two chapters, so I brainstormed those and started on them. This week I want to finish those two chapters, and get to as many of the remaining chapters (about ten) as I can in two and a half days off this week.

On my other day off I want to finish rewriting Chapter Three of FIRE. I got about 300 words into it on Friday, so unless I write a ridiculously long chapter, I only have about 1500-1700 words left. If I finish the chapter, I’ll try to post another snippet next week 🙂

What Inspires Me Right Now

Raven was joking on Twitter about how inspirational it would be to cast Henry Cavill as one of her characters because she’d keep writing just to picture him, and I actually sort of did cast him as Vantandal from SHARDS for that reason so I joked we should include pictures of him in our WUW posts so I figured I should deliver 🙂

My reference picture for Vantandal
My reference picture for Vantandal
Not sure how much of the actual movie I paid attention to.
Not sure how much of the actual movie I paid attention to.

And I would be a horrible person if I didn’t link you to this post.

What Else I’m Up To

Aside from being a clothing pusher, I’ve been hanging out with friends and stuff. I pretty much consider it a victory any time I leave my apartment.

Just so you can appreciate the strangeness of the Pacific Northwest, this is something I saw during my frolicking last week:

Image 2We take our bikes seriously in these parts.

21 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #5

  1. Don’t you hate it when the day job limits your writing time… But yeah, happy bank accounts are also very good!

    …Henry Cavill keeps popping up all over the place today!

    Have an awesome week ^_^

  2. Ohhh!! Casting gorgeous men in our WIPs is such a great idea! I’ll have to think on that more. Thanks for the great pics of Mr. Cavill. 🙂

    Oh goodness, I love the Pacific Northwest. I lived in Seattle one summer and am just biding my time til I’m able to move back. What a glorious place. 🙂

  3. Oh, Steph, your character research must be so much fun! *thinks of Pinterest board full of lovely pictures*. 😉 And THANK YOU FOR THAT ARTICLE. : D
    I’m glad you got a chance to do some writing/revising, even though you were busy. Every little bit counts!

  4. I love Vatandal already. *sigh*
    Also, there is a chance that Henry Cavill might show up in my wip afterall. The more I think about it, the more I realize that it would be a crime not to include him. Plus, looking at pictures of him can be a great way to get motivated (or distracted) but it’s all in the name of research hehe. 😀
    Good luck with catching up on your writing this week. I’m looking forward to reading another snippet from Fire!

  5. Okay, my day has totally been derailed by all those Henry Cavill pictures. Yes, I had to click the link. How am I supposed to get any writing down with those in my head? 😉

    Hope the writing/revising continues to go well this week!

  6. Omg – that sign had me cracking up! Awesome! And get that 1700 words done – I want to see another snippet! 🙂

    I hope you have a wonderful writing week!

  7. It sounds like you’re making awesome writing progress, even though work is keeping you busy — I’m impressed! I don’t work (outside my house) and I still struggle to fit in writing time.

    And yeah… I can totally see why Henry Cavill’s an inspiration of yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

