Book Reviews, Debut Author Challenge

Debut Author Challenge: Mila 2.0

Mila 2.0 (MILA 2.0, #1)Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wasn’t expecting to love Mila 2.0 as much as I did, which I guess is a sign I need to stop underestimating sci fi so much. Right away Mila’s voice was distinct, and I loved how much she sounded like a teenage girl. I was jealous of how easy Driza made it look, really.

I also loved how clear Mila’s motivations were, as well as the high stakes should she fail. I won’t go into it too much because I don’t want to spoil the book, but I will say that these are two things that made me unable to turn pages fast enough.

What really sealed the deal for me, though, was watching Mila’s struggle to find the balance between her human and android sides. So much of the book was about exploring what it means to be human, and I think watching Mila go through this was both realistic and heartbreaking. Even though Mila is an android, her struggle to find her identity makes her really easy for teens to relate to.

Mila 2.0 is a longer book, but it didn’t feel that way since I tore through it so fast. I highly recommend it if you loved Marissa Meyer’s Cinder and want to read about another not-quite-human girl coming to terms with what she is.

View all my reviews

DebutAuthorChallenge

1 thought on “Debut Author Challenge: Mila 2.0”

Leave a Reply

