Book Reviews

Review: Deep and Dark and Dangerous

Deep and Dark and Dangerous: A Ghost StoryDeep and Dark and Dangerous: A Ghost Story by Mary Downing Hahn

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Deep and Dark and Dangerous is a ghost story, which isn’t normally my thing, but I liked it. There were some genuinely creepy parts that made me glad I didn’t read this one before bed at all – and I don’t normally tend to get creeped out by books (or I’ve been reading the wrong kind, whichever).

I thought it was a cool premise – something happened at the lake thirty years ago, something the strange girl showing up to play with our main characters seems intent on telling them about – but the story ultimately lacked suspense for me since I guessed at what happened early on.

Additionally, there were some words that threw me out of the story. I got the impression that this story was set in the present day, but then the main character is throwing around words like “permanent” (i.e. perm) and “casement” which don’t really seem like words a thirteen-year-old would use. For the most part our MC’s voice was realistic, except there were enough of those moments where she used strange words for no apparent reason that it bothered me.

Overall, Deep and Dark and Dangerous was a nice way to kill a couple hours, but it wasn’t something that kept me up reading past my bedtime.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

