What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #7

WUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

The Casual Vacancy is unquestionably due back to the library Friday, which means I’ve got a fire under my butt to finally finish it. So I’m plugging away at that. I also read Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins last week and Reboot by Amy Tintera. While Demonglass was only okay for me, Reboot was awesome and I highly recommend that.

What I’m Writing

Uh…not much? I’ve only written like 3000 words since my last post two weeks ago, but I’ll go into that below. My goal for the rest of July is to keep fitting words in wherever I can, even if it’s only a small (by my usual standards, I guess) number. When things settle back down at the beginning of August, I’m hoping to make ridiculous progress in order to meet my goals for the summer.ready-set-write-button

What Inspires Me Right Now

The weather has been really, really nice lately, and right now B and I are staying with friends who live close to the lakes, so we’ve been going down there. I feel like the lake would be a really nice place to read or write, if it wasn’t crawling with college students every time we go. But I can dream.

What Else I’m Up To

B and I moved out of our apartment last week and are staying with friends until we move into our house (which we’re renting) at the beginning of August. I’ve been working five days a week, and when I’m not working, I’ve been cleaning. It’s been hard to fit words in between all of that, hence the small numbers over the past couple weeks. Which is actually making me antsy, because writing has become such an important part of my routine. I’ve also been doing a lot of hanging out with friends, making up for being such a hermit during the school year, so that’s been fun.

Basically, I’ve been doing a lot of everything except writing.

17 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #7

  1. Yay for lake houses and staying cool/being with friends. 🙂 You know…I have no desire to read A Casual Vacany or her new mystery. I guess for me JK is just HP, and that’s that. Though I am sure she can write adult…I don’t know-I just don’t have a desire. And hey don’t beat yourself up about the 3k. It’s 3k you didn’t have before 😀

  2. Hanging out with friends sounds like a good way to relax/unwind after working and cleaning a lot! 😀 Those words will come back I’m sure and you already managed to write quite a bit in two weeks! A lake house sounds like fun!

  3. Hanging out with friends and prepping for a big move sounds like a great way to spend the summer. If you don’t have life experience, you wont have anything to write about. So you can get back to upping your word count once your settled into your new place and the sky’s not quite so blue.

  4. Congrats for getting in 3,000 words given all the other things going on in your life, Stephanie! Once you’ve moved, hopefully things will settle back into a good routine and word counts will increase.

    All the best to you! 🙂

  5. Sounds like you’ve been crazy-busy, Steph. I think that makes your low word count totally understandable. I hope you really do get to write ALL THE WORDS today. I’ll be on later tonight if you want company. Here’s hoping for a relatively painless move for you and your roomie!

  6. I would LOVE to write by a lake! Whenever we vacation at a beach house (which is rare), I enjoy sitting on the porch overlooking the ocean and getting my write on.

    Good luck with all that you are doing! And 3000 words is A LOT! I hope things settle down soon for you though.

  7. Sounds like you’re busy, but with good things. The lake sounds lovely, one day I want to live near water, hopefully somewhere hot 🙂

    Great job fitting in 3,000 words when you’ve so much going on. I hope you find some pockets of time this week.

    1. This time of year being by the water is definitely nice because we’re at least 5-10 degrees cooler than other parts of the state. My limit is about 75 degrees so I’m totally fine with this 🙂

  8. Sometimes life gets in the way– but that’s more than expected if you’re moving, staying in someone else’s house, and working a lot. :0) You’ll get back to your schedule soon! :0) Have a great writing week!

  9. Sounds like you’ve been crazy busy lately! I hope things slow down a bit for you. Though, that time at the lake sounds especially appealing! You’ll get back into the swing of things at some point. 🙂

  10. Ooh – I went and checked out REBOOT (I hadn’t heard about it before) and it looks really good. Thanks for the recommendation!

    I like that not being able to write has helped you appreciate it more. I hope you get some free to to spend writing soon!

    Good luck with the move. 🙂

  11. Life > writing. And sometimes those non-writing breaks can be good. Getting antsy is great for when the writing moments arrive. Then when you finally do get that chance to write, all those words are ready. 🙂

  12. Moving can be so hard on writing. I didn’t get to touch my WIP for almost all of May because of it. I hope you get some words in, but even if you don’t–don’t worry about it. I’ll still cheer you on! I’ll wait to send any more chapters your way until things settle down. Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

