Book Reviews

Review: The Disenchantments

The DisenchantmentsThe Disenchantments by Nina LaCour
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m not normally a super big contemporary reader, so the degree to which I loved The Disenchantments totally caught me off guard. Nina LaCour did a great job capturing the optimism and fear involved in growing up, as well as capturing the relationship between the book’s featured group of friends.

I loved Colby, because his confusion about what to do with his life now that he’s out of high school, as well as his confusion over his feelings for Bev, were realistic. I spent the whole book wanting to give him a hug, as well as rooting for him to figure out what to do with himself since everything he’d banked on had been thrown out the window.

I also loved following the band (and Colby!) on their road trip. While it was fun, there was sort of a nostalgic air to it, too, as everyone tried to deal with the fact that they were going their separate ways at the end of it. One thing LaCour did particularly well was blending the fun and the substance.

The other thing that stood out to me was the setting. The Disenchantments is set in Northern California and Oregon, and I think LaCour did a great job bringing this region to life. It made me want to take another road trip down there, that’s for sure!

If you’re looking for a quick, fun read that also deals with growing up, The Disenchantments would be a good read for you.

View all my reviews

8 thoughts on “Review: The Disenchantments

  1. This one was one of my favorites last year. Love the cover, love Colby, love the road trip aspect, and the torturous unrequited love. I’m so ready for a new Nina LaCour book to come out!

  2. Ohh, interesting!! I’m so curious now that you gave it five stars! I actually have been interested in this one for a long time but just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. Maybe I need to bump it up! 🙂

  3. Stephanie….it’s taken me longer to get through this book than I wanted (not because of the book…just obligations). But I’m glad you loved it so much. I’ll definitely have to finish it….soon! 🙂

    Great review!

Leave a Reply

