Book Reviews

Review: The Elite

The Elite (The Selection, #2)The Elite by Kiera Cass

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Most of my thoughts about this book can be summed up with: Dear God, America. [insert question about her logic here]. Despite all logic telling me I really shouldn’t like this book, I couldn’t stop reading it. It wasn’t quite as addictive as The Selection, but it was still a quick, easy, and somewhat entertaining way to kill a few hours.

Most of my problems lay with the main character, America. There were several times when I found myself wanting to slap her upside the head, usually for one of two reasons. The first reason is because she has a tendency to do things – often major things that have potential to create social and political upheaval – and then she’s surprised when there are consequences for these actions.

The second reason I was constantly annoyed with America was because of the love triangle. America once again spends the entire book waffling between Aspen and Maxon, which I actually found more annoying than the whole not thinking things through thing. My reasons for this were twofold: first, because America really has no other hobbies beyond boys, or at least hobbies that aren’t really developed – every waking moment is consumed by thinking about Aspen and/or Maxon, and occasionally sticking it to the man. The other reason this annoyed me is because the love triangle itself has long overstayed its welcome. What little tension there was has disappeared honestly, if this were real life, both boys would’ve moved on by now.

And yet I still spent the entire book rooting for America and Maxon, so.

I did find the added history interesting. While I still thought there were aspects of the world building lacking, it was interesting to learn more about how Illea came about, and that is something I’d like to see more of in the final book.

Because we all know I’ll be reading it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

