Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Beginnings & Endings

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Five Favorite Book Beginnings

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling: I really love how Rowling starts the story from Uncle Vernon’s point of view, because initially the Muggle perspective is our perspective, and it was an effective way of getting us curious about all of the strange happenings.
  2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: “Late in the winter of my seventeenth year, my mother decided I was depressed, presumably because I rarely left the house, spent quite a lot of time in bed, read the same book over and over, ate infrequently, and devoted quite a bit of my abundant free time to thinking about death.” I don’t normally remember first lines. I remember this one.
  3. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien: “In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.” It’s a simple first line, but the first time I read this in eighth grade, I already had questions. Namely, what IS a hobbit? And why would you want to live in a hole in the ground, anyway?
  4. Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare: While Romeo and Juliet isn’t my favorite Shakespeare play, the opening monologue left enough of an impression that I still remember it even though I haven’t read it in ten years. (See: no memory for first lines.)
  5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.” Ah, irony.

Top Five Favorite Book Endings

  1. Insurgent by Veronica Roth: I read this in May 2012 and I haven’t stopped thinking about this ending. If you’ve read the book, you know why. If you haven’t, get thee to a library.
  2. The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson: I threw this book at the wall. Five pages later, I was laughing out loud. Nailed it.
  3. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin: Thinking about the ending to this one makes me want to laugh maniacally for reasons you have to be living under a rock not to know about at this point. A Storm of Swords is a close second for the tricksy political maneuvering that happens up at the Wall. And A Feast for Crows had some fantastic plot developments re: Cersei. Maybe I should’ve just put the entire ASoIaF series here.
  4. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver: I loved how the main character, Sam, comes to understand herself better over the course of the book. I think the ending was a perfect conclusion to that journey. (Even if it made me want to break things.)
  5. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken: I’M STILL NOT OKAY.

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Beginnings & Endings”

  1. The Fault in Our Stars has a great beginning and ending–tear-jerking emotional-wreck-inducing ending, but great.
    P & P made my list, too. I’m always a little smug towards people who don’t like the book because they don’t get the humor. It’s not nice of me, but I can’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

