What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #8

WUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

*dusts off blog*

What I’m Reading

Right now I’m reading Strands of Bronze and Gold for my Debut Author Challenge. I’m actually not all that familiar with the Bluebeard story (which the book is a retelling of) so I’m reading it purely from a historical fiction standpoint and I have no idea where it’s going. All I know so far is M. Bernard is creepy and I’m not really connecting with Sophia quite yet. But the setting (1855 Mississippi) is interesting.

What I’m Writing

I’ve written maybe 1000 words since I last posted. So obviously the writing hasn’t been happening lately. I’ve been working basically full-time and unpacking in between that and when I’m not doing either of those things I’m sleeping. Although now that things have settled back down I’m ready to write words. Lots and lots of words.ready-set-write-button

But I probably won’t finish the first draft of FIRE this summer like I’d planned, so I’ll just be content with getting what I can.

What Inspires Me Right Now

Right now the only thing inspiring me is sleep, to be honest.

What Else I’m Up To

I moved into a house last week with my best friend and her boyfriend. It’s…interesting. We knew it wasn’t going to be a fantastically perfect house because it’s old, but the place was completely trashed when we walked in – holes in the wall, a squirrel in the walls, trash in the garage and basement. So we’ve been working with the property managers to get some of these things fixed and meanwhile we’ve been discovering various quirks. Like last night my roommate B decided to melt butter in the microwave while popping popcorn, and it turns out running the microwave and air popper at the same time shuts off our internet.

I did go see Train last week with my sister, though, so that was fun. Especially the part where I totally embarrassed her by dancing to the 80s/90s pop songs playing during intermission.

She won't appreciate me posting this one...
She won’t appreciate me posting this one…

And as previously mentioned, I’ve been working basically full-time because it’s back to school season and I think my coworkers and I are all steadily losing our minds.

What have you all been up to?

10 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #8

  1. “M. Bernard is creepy and I’m not really connecting with Sophia quite yet. But the setting (1855 Mississippi) is interesting.” <— This is pretty much how I felt about the whole book. It wasn't my favorite debut of the year, but I did love the setting. I'll be interested to hear what you think once you've finished reading.

    I hope you're able to get unpacked and settled in to your new place soon. I'm usually writing in the evenings, so if you're not working and you're up to it, tweet me!

    1. Ugh, and Bernard only gets worse the more I read. I probably would’ve loved this book, but I was too icked out by him :/

      I probably won’t be working such late hours so often when I’m subbing again, so I should be around more often in the evenings soon 🙂

  2. I saw your tweet about the microwave snafu! Crazy, but also old houses and the renovations people do fascinate me. Good luck with the move! And yes – I bet that’s an interesting living situation!

    Also, when I feel overwhelmed and down because I haven’t written as much as I want to and feel like I need to write 10000 words just to catch up to my sometimes unrealistic goals, I just sit down and tell myself anything is better than nothing. And that usually helps me get started. 1000 words is better than no words at all. Go you! And good luck with the back to school thing! I know how crazy busy that can be.

    1. Yeah…although writing has become so much a part of my routine, I actually feel cranky and stressed out when it doesn’t happen! So that’s encouraging, I guess?

      We expected many little quirks with living in a 100-year-old house, but that particular instance was not one of them 🙂

  3. I love the idea of an old house, too, but squirrels in the walls and garbage are not awesome. Have a wonderful back to school week and try not to stress about word count. You’ll find your rhythm again once you settle back in.

  4. I actually don’t think I’ve heard of Strands of Bronze and Gold. I’m surprised I didn’t come across it while doing my DAC list. I’m glad you’re finally moved in, even if there are quirks. It was good to see you on Twitter writing today! I selfishly would like you to finish FIRE right now, but I understand that you haven’t really had time. Sort of. 😉 Have a good week!

  5. Sounds like you’ve been crazy busy lately! Hope everything works out with the new digs. Yikes! I think I’d lose my mind on the property manager, but that’s probably not the best approach. I haven’t been writing much lately either, but I don’t have any really good reasons for it. I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things soon. Hope you have a great week, Stephanie! 🙂

  6. Holes and squirrels in the walls… losing internet when using the air popper and the microwave… you know, there’s a story in here. I expect to see this all in one of your novels one day, Stephanie!

    Despite the busy-ness, I hope you have a great writing week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

