Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Required Reading

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books I Wish Were Taught In Schools [more often]

  1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: For one of my education classes in college, I designed an entire unit around The Hunger Games, and I am here to tell you there is A LOT you can do with it – media literacy, personal identity, propaganda, oppressive governments, information control…plus kids love it, so it’s a win win!
  2. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson: Rape culture needs to be discussed more, and this is a good place to start.
  3. Looking for Alaska by John Green: Another book that has a lot going on – personal identity, friendship, forgiveness. And it still manages to be accessible and funny.
  4. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie: This book is funny and honest, and living where I do, I’ll run into a lot of students who will be able to see themselves in Junior.
  5. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta: Wait, a fantasy book, you ask? Yes. A fantasy book. Because I’m salivating thinking of all the things I could do with this one – national identity, genocide, political conflict. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.
  6. Divergent by Veronica Roth: There is a theme on this list, and that theme is identity. Because this is important for middle and high schoolers. Also, I have yet to meet a kid who didn’t like this book, so there’s also that.
  7. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: I would want to pair this one with Elie Wiesel’s Night because they provide two perspectives on the same thing. Also, it would be interesting to compare historical fiction versus memoir.
  8. If I Lie by Corrine Jackson: You know what else needs to be talked about? Slut shaming. This would be interesting to compare to Speak.
  9. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien: I would love to read this aloud to middle schoolers because dragons.
  10. Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce: I feel like this would be perfect for the middle school crowd because Alanna is that same age, and also because she’s dealing with the same things a lot of them are – figuring out who her real friends are and all that. Also, it involves magic and adventures.

Which books would you want to see taught more often? (I would love more books revolving around minorities, because obviously my list is lacking in those.)

Currently Listening To: The White Tie Affair – “Price Of Company”
Currently Reading: Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

See Also: Books & School [Road Trip Wednesday]

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Required Reading

  1. I really like your picks! I have The Absolute Diary and The Book Thief on my list too. I know that the local middle school has Hunger Games on their summer reading list, which I was so excited to see!

Leave a Reply

