What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #9

WUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

Right now I’m reading Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. I’m not far into it, but my impression so far is that on the Creep Scale, Patch ranks right up there with Edward Cullen, and yet I can’t stop reading. Soooo I guess we’ll see what my thoughts are on it when I finish reading.

What I’m Writing

Over the past couple weeks I’ve found time to work on a couple more chapters of SHARDS. Just two left, then some spot cleaning, and then I’ll be all ready to query!

I’m going to get back to FIRE soon, too, because I’ve got some CPs waiting far too patiently for another chapter 🙂

What Inspires Me Right Now

The weather? SHARDS is set in fall, so it seems like a perfect time to be sending it on its way.

What Else I’m Up To

Back to school is over! *throws confetti* Seriously, though, it’s been a very crazy past couple weeks at work. It was so nice this morning to just be able to fold things and not see my hard work destroyed ten seconds after I finish…

School started today, so I’ll be back to subbing…hopefully soon. And thus I return to my glamourous life of working two jobs (one of which is on-call and the other of which might as well be).

Also, I went and visited my family over the weekend and we went to Taylor Swift’s concert in Tacoma. I’ve seen her four times now, and it never gets old.

What have you been up to?

13 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #9”

  1. Oh my gosh, I just realized I have a copy of HUSH, HUSH that I bought ages ago and totally forgot about. Guess I should keep better track of my TBR books, hey? That’s fantastic that you’re so close to finishing up SHARDS! You’re making awesome progress on all your projects from the sound of things. I’ve been thinking about subbing again, too. This is my fourth school year not teaching, so I figure I should probably at least try and get back to doing it. We’ll see.

    I would totally go to a Taylor Swift concert. She was here recently, but it was FAR too late to get tickets. And if I’m not mistaken, she was touring with Ed Sheeran, which would have been awesome to see. Ah well. Have a great week, Stephanie!

    1. Heh. I have so many books I’ve bought and not read, I can’t keep track of them all. I just have a mountain inside my closet that I remain optimistic I’ll get to someday.

      I’m so happy to get back to subbing! I mean, I really do like my other job because I like clothes and my coworkers are awesome, but I definitely missed the kids. You should totally go for it 🙂

      I was skeptical about Ed Sheeran because I’ve only heard a couple of his songs and I wasn’t sure I would want to sit through a set of things like that, but he put on an amazing show. I might’ve liked him better than Taylor!

  2. I’m really happy for you that you’re so close to finishing SHARDS. I hope your query process is fruitful. Many of us are in varying stages of querying, and that solidarity helps. If only to say we get it.

    I am not sure I would go to a Taylor Swift concert. I do love her, but it embarrasses me on a deep level just how much. I would have to wear a disguise. I am going to a Mumford and Sons concert this month, which I am beyond excited about!

    1. That’s one reason I’m so grateful for the writing community – for the solidarity during things like the querying process 🙂

      My friends mocked me mercilessly when they found out I was going to see Taylor Swift. At this point, I figure I have no choice but to just own it. I’m so jealous you’re seeing Mumford & Sons, though! I love them!

      1. I totally don’t mock you…because I do really love her! I just can’t bring myself to admit it so openly. And…bleflegschnitz! I love Mumford & Sons so much.

  3. How awesome that you are so close to finishing! And yes – I LOVE fall. Now that school has started, I can’t wait for cooler weather and NFL football. 🙂

    Have a great week!

  4. Hopefully you don’t have too many spots to clean and can release your baby into the wild–otherwise known as the Land of Querying! I wish you all the best with that, and that you won’t have to query long. 🙂

  5. I try to never give bad review of books, but I seriously hated Hush, Hush. I read the whole thing in one sitting but then felt really dirty afterwards. It’s way creepier than Twilight, like I almost feel like teenagers shouldn’t be allowed to read it because it teaches kids to idealize unhealthy relationships. That’s just me though, lots of other people love it.

  6. How exciting about SHARDS! If you need an extra set of eyes on your query before to send it out, hit me up. And then, you know, GET BACK TO FIRE. Ahem.

    But really.

    I haven’t read Hush, Hush. I’m reading Between The Devil and The Deep Blue Sea, and River definitely has a creep factor–but it’s that charming sort of creepy that sucks you in, so even though you know you shouldn’t stay, you do. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

