Book Reviews

Review: Hush, Hush

Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush, #1)Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I loved Hush, Hush to a surprising degree, considering the things I’ve heard about it: it’s a rip-off of Twilight, it’s sort of rapey, etc. I didn’t go into it with high expectations, so I was surprised when I crawled into bed to read it, and looked up a few hours later after I closed the book.

The plot wasn’t the most original: paranormal being falls for ordinary human girl who’s not so ordinary after all. Logically, I should’ve hated it. I actually ended up liking Nora, the main character, though. While I couldn’t help making connections to Twilight while I was reading, one thing that set Nora apart from Bella was the fact that Nora actually had a personality and interests outside of the boys chasing her. Granted, Nora made many, many decisions that made me want to talk some sense into her, but unlike some other girls making stupid decisions in books I’ve read lately, Nora at least knew she was making stupid decisions. (But seriously, girl, start listening to those instincts. They’re talking to you for a reason.)

I wasn’t all swoony over Patch like we were obviously meant to be, because Patch was really creepy. I mean, we find out later the reasons he’s following Nora around, and while the explanation was logical, I just couldn’t get behind a love interest who basically stalked the main character. That being said, Patch was at least better than Elliot, the boy Nora goes out with a couple times – Elliot actually physically assaults Nora at one point in the book. I feel like this scene could’ve had more impact if Nora had actually dwelt on the implications of what Elliot did, but she did recognize she needed to stay far, far away from him.

The setting was a particularly strong point of the book. I felt like coastal Maine really came to life, and Fitzpatrick’s strong writing helped with that.

Hush, Hush was an addictive read, although it wasn’t for the boys (for once) since the boys were actually sort of creepy and violent. It wasn’t even all that original, but the good writing and an interesting main character were enough to make up for that.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Hush, Hush”

Leave a Reply

