Book Reviews

Review: You Wish

You WishYou Wish by Mandy Hubbard

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

You Wish was funny and adorable, what I imagine a great beach read would be if I ever read books at the beach.

I really liked the main character, Kayla. She had a snarky response for everything, and watching her bait the popular girls made me crack up. On the other hand, she also showed a lot of depth as the book went on – we see how lonely she is, and watching her realize she is part of the reason for her loneliness is heartbreaking. I loved seeing her empower herself toward the end and realize she had it in herself to change things.

I also really liked Kayla’s relationship with Ben. They had an easy and natural chemistry, and I had to root for them the entire book. Ben by himself is goofy, adorable, and nice, which was a refreshing change from all the bad boys that seem to be populating YA.

I felt like You Wish was a realistic take on the awkwardness of high school. I mean, obviously there weren’t life-size dolls roaming the halls or anything, but seeing all the awkward following Kayla around made her easy to relate to. High school is an awkward time, so it was nice to see a book portray that side of it!

If you’re looking for a quick, easy, adorable read, give You Wish a chance.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

