What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #10

WUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

I finished Hush, Hush and reviewed it here. (TL;DR I liked it more than I should have, given how creepy the boys were, as well as the possibly rapey undertones. On the other hand, it was better than Twilight.) I also read Fairest by Gail Carson Levine and didn’t like it as much as Ella Enchanted, but it was still a cute book.

Right now I’m wrapping up with two books: The Essence by Kimberly Derting (which I’m not liking as much as The Pledge) and Serena by Ron Rash, which is okay, except I don’t really like two of the three main characters. The writing reminds me a lot of Steinbeck’s stuff, though, so if you like John Steinbeck, you’ll probably like Serena.

What I’m Writing

Right now I’m looking at my character descriptions in SHARDS, since multiple people have told me they’re really vague or nonexistent. I also worked a little bit on FIRE this week, although SHARDS has been my main focus.

What Inspires Me Right Now

This is a continuation of last week, but fall. The weather isn’t really reflecting it right now – it’s supposed to get to 90 degrees today! – but school has started, we’re getting things like sweaters and scarves and boots in at Other Job, football has started at long last, and my annual quest to consume as many pumpkin flavored things as possible is underway. So it definitely feels like fall, even though I’m still wearing shorts.

What Else I’m Up To

I’ve been reading a lot of books and watching a lot of How I Met Your Mother on Netflix since school started last week, now that I’m on call for Day Job during the day and only work Other Job at night and on the weekend. We’ve been continuing to have drama with our house (we got rid of the squirrels only to have them replaced by mice). We were finally able to hook up our cable, though, just in time for me to catch most of the Seahawks game before work on Sunday. It was a messy game and a hard-fought victory, but at the end of the day, all that matters is that I get to bathe in the tears of my enemies.

What have you been up to this week?

12 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #10”

  1. “It was a messy game and a hard-fought victory, but at the end of the day, all that matters is that I get to bathe in the tears of my enemies.” Football is not my thing, but this description makes me wish I had seen that game.

    Enjoy working on your character descriptions. That’s a tricky thing sometimes.

  2. Your character description issues sound like my setting description issues. For whatever reason, I regularly forget to pull in setting. Whoops! I suppose knowing that is the first step in the right direction. I’m sure your characters will be described really well now!

    Sounds like your fall weather is much like ours here in Alberta. It’s chilly this morning, but expected to get super hot again by the end of the day. I actually would love some nice grey rainy days for a change. All that aside, it doesn’t mean we can’t fill our days with pumpkin-y goodness! Have a great week, Stephanie! 🙂

  3. I shake my head when I look at the forecast for the week. It’s autumn. 90 degrees–even 85 degrees–is not autumn. Can we work on getting those temps into the high 60s/low 70s MAX? Please? 🙂

    Character description is a knotty thing (IMO). If you’re talking physical description, there is a school of thought that says “less is better.” Since people’s ideas of “strong” “beautiful” “handsome” “ordinary” are subjective, the more you allow your reader to imagine your “handsome prince” or “beautiful maiden,” the more they’ll connect to your story–just provide necessary, plot-relevant details. Of course, there are those that like to do the infamous “mirror scene” and have the character describe themselves down to the last pimple. And some people like that. If you’re talking emotional/personality type of description, I would say that’s a lot harder, and significantly more important. Depth of character says a lot more, I think, than mere physical description. I suppose it helps to know what you’re aiming for. I don’t know if any of that helps, but there are my thoughts for what they’re worth.

    Have a really great writing week, Stephanie! 😀

    1. I’ve been trying to work more on physical descriptions, and while I don’t want to get super specific (for the reasons you mentioned), my strategy has been to come up with something distinctive for each character – whether it’s the fact that someone never has a hair out of place, or someone is “perfectly starched” (which I used to describe the housekeeper – oh, I slay myself), etc. So at least there’s something that’s not generic, but I’ve still left a lot up to the reader’s imagination.

  4. I’m rubbish at describing characters and places. I think I forget that the readers aren’t in my head and can’t picture things like I do unless I give them something to work from. Whoops, my bad! Good luck with your editing… and with the mice too.

  5. Haha, I love that last paragraph – the tears of your enemies indeed. I’m having a similar experience here: a lot of Fall stuff is happening, but we’re having a heat wave! I kind of love these ferocious last days of summer though. Something about the heat and the change in the air all at once. Speaking of fall and pumpkins though, I NEED to get some pumpkin spice latte!

    Good luck with your character descriptions! I like describing settings, but I always struggle with describing people. 😛

  6. It’s about the same here – 80 degree weather (that feels like 100) yet it weirdly feels fall-ish with all the pumpkin doughnuts and football and Halloween decorations in stores. We do have cooler mornings, so yay for that!

    And sounds like you are crazy busy! Good luck with everything this week! And good luck with SHARDS – are you close to finishing the revisions?!

  7. Oh man I love fall. It finally started to feel like fall here on Friday and I’m so thrilled. I know you saw my pumpkin beer I posted on Instagram–I’m with you, pumpkin things are my favorite. I may even bake the first pumpkin pie of the season tonight. I always keep a few extra cans of pumpkin each year so I have it before it’s released in the fall.

    How much work did you do on FIRE? Enough to send me more pages??? 🙂

Leave a Reply

