What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #11

WUWFallWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

I’ve finally convinced myself it’s time to slog through the back half of George R.R. Martin’s A Dance With Dragons, so I’ve started that back up again. I’m also reading an ARC of writer friend Mara Valderran‘s Heirs of War. I read part of an earlier draft after Write On Con last year, and so far the story has only gotten better. I’m looking forward to finally getting to see how it ends!

I also have Liz‘s MS sitting on my computer, so I’d love to finally be able to finish it this week because it’s awesome!

What I’m Writing

Well, I started querying SHARDS, so I’m looking forward to putting all of my attention on FIRE. I haven’t decided if I’m doing NaNo this year yet, but I’m leaning toward yes because it’s NaNo and I have a fine tradition of participating and getting nowhere near 50k. If I do end up doing it, I’ll totally cheat and use it to finish my first draft of FIRE.

What Inspires Me Right Now

Bill Nye’s dance on Dancing With the Stars last night. Because the fact that he got out there and tried, despite having an injury, was awesome.

What Else I’m Up To

Working. As I do. I’ve been averaging about two days a week subbing, as well as trying not to pick up the cold that’s going around all the schools right now. Fingers crossed.

Also, my friend Katelynne visited this weekend and when we weren’t busy brunching with my roommate Bri, we were on the couch, marathoning Say Yes to the Dress on Netflix and eating far too much junk food. Which was probably for the best, because we had two storms back to back this weekend, and really, who wants to be outside in that if they don’t have to be?

And, of course, I’ve been reveling in all the fall TV shows. I watch a disgusting amount of TV, but as established in the previous paragraph, what else am I going to do?

What have you all been up to lately?

22 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #11

  1. Good luck with querying! All of my fingers are crossed for you. 🙂 And lucky you getting to read Liz’s MS. It sounds awesome. I’m hoping to start subbing again in the next couple of months, so we could be in very much the same boat, dodging germs and sickness. Have a great week, Stephanie, and stay healthy! 🙂

  2. Good luck with Querying! Best thing you can do is get those queries out and start working on your next project. Once you send you baby out in the world there’s not much you can do. Hopefully you’ll get an offer or at the very least some good feedback! Good luck.

    And good luck reading Martin. Not that his story isn’t great, I just have a hard time ‘wading’ through it. I guess I’m more the fast pace action type girl.

    1. I enjoy Martin’s stuff, but it takes FOREVER for me to get through it because I have a short attention span – I definitely love the fast-paced stuff better. So I understand 🙂

      Thank you!

  3. Good luck querying! And reading…ADWD is a long one. With long books, I don’t push myself to finish quickly; I just try to settle down and enjoy the experience. And oh man are you in for some plot twists! 🙂

  4. Good luck with querying!!! And with FIRE! I need to watch some television – with the kids schedules I never seem to have time (and I’m okay with that), but now that my days are somewhat free…

    Oh, and try not to pick up the colds the schools supply endlessly. I taught 21 years and built up a hefty immune system, but I still caught something.

    Have a great week!

  5. Best of luck with your querying, Steph. I’m totally rooting for you! And I’m just a *tiny* bit jealous that you get to read Liz’s manuscript! I’ve been so curious about it since she worked on it during NaNo last year. Happy reading and writing, lady!

  6. Oh geez, that Bill Nye clip was hysterical! I didn’t even know he was a contestant on Dancing With the Stars. My son just watched the clip with me and we’re both cracking up. I love that he inspires millions of kids to enjoy science and yet tries something that’s completely different like this.

    Good luck with the querying! I just jumped back into it after a break for some more revisions. And I hope you can avoid that nasty cold!

    1. One of my guy friends watched the entire episode with me on Monday night, just because he wanted to watch Bill Nye. True friendship, right there.

      Thank you! And good luck with your querying, too!

  7. Bill Nye is seriously awesome. I follow him on Twitter. It’s like my childhood has come alive. 🙂

    I’m debating about doing NaNo as well. I’m leaning more toward the doing it the closer it gets.

Leave a Reply

