Book Reviews

Review: The Transfer

The Transfer (Divergent, #0.1)The Transfer by Veronica Roth

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

GUYS THERE IS FINALLY MORE FOUR IN MY LIFE.

Ahem. Now that I’ve managed to sum up my feelings on this happy occurrence in GIF form, I’m going to attempt to string words together in a somewhat coherent manner.

What I loved so much about “The Transfer” – aside from all the Four feels, obviously – was how it gave us an opportunity to see how Four became…well, Four. Watching him deal with his father and wrestle with which faction to choose was gut-wrenching, and it was easy to root for him.

I also loved seeing the parallels between Four’s journey and Tris’s, because I feel like it explained why he would’ve been attracted to Tris in Divergent – he saw a lot of himself in Tris. Both of them had to struggle with being true to themselves, with reconciling the teachings of Abnegation with what Dauntless asked of them, and with crafting new identities.

“The Transfer” was a really good look inside Four’s head. The only negative thing I can really say about it is that it won’t be enough to tide me over until Allegiant!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

