Book Reviews, Debut Author Challenge

Review: All Our Yesterdays

All Our Yesterdays (All Our Yesterdays #1)All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Actual Rating: 4.5/5

All Our Yesterdays was one of those books that was hyped so much, I was worried it was going to be a let down. Fortunately, this wasn’t the case at all.

Right away, I was sucked in by Em’s voice, which was a little on the cynical side without being too over the top. She also seemed very sure of herself, which was a nice contrast to Marina, who was very unsure of herself and didn’t think anything of herself at all, instead letting her questionable friends dictate her choices and tying her self-worth to things like her weight and whether her best friend, James, liked her. Both characters felt very realistic, and Marina’s story was heartbreaking.

I really liked the romance because it was there, but it didn’t overpower the actual story. I didn’t actually like James that much – he came across as a jerk at times, and Marina explaining him away as socially awkward didn’t bring me around to him – but I loved Finn, who was adorable and a really good friend.

The time travel aspect took some time to wrap my brain around. It’s explained in a very accessible way, but at a conceptual level, I just had to stop reading and think about it so it wouldn’t get too confusing. (Science is hard, yo.)

What ultimately kept me from giving All Our Yesterdays five stars was the ending. It felt really rushed, and I would have loved to see more development of what happened as a result of the things that happened. Also, I feel like this is a book that could stand alone. I mean, I’m still going to read the sequel, but it doesn’t need one.

All Our Yesterdays is a good book for people who aren’t normally into time travel, because it’s not science-heavy, and while the time travel is an important aspect of the story, it’s really about the characters – sort of like The Time-Traveler’s Wife.

View all my reviews

DebutAuthorChallenge

Currently Listening To: Chris Young – “Aw Naw”
Currently Reading: The Twelve Rooms of the Nile by Enid Shomer

Leave a Reply

