Book Reviews

Review: The Bitter Kingdom

The Bitter Kingdom (Fire and Thorns, #3)The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I built up The Bitter Kingdom so much in my mind, I put off reading it until it was time to return it to the library because I was afraid it wouldn’t live up to my expectations. As it turns out, it was one of the most satisfying series conclusions I’ve ever read.

First of all, we spent the previous books being told how evil the Inviernos are, but they turned out to be some of my favorite characters – obviously, I’m talking about Storm and Waterfall. Their bluntness was amusing, and I was especially fond of Storm’s unapologetic vanity, as well as the lengths he was willing to go to for his friends.

I also loved Hector, of course. When I saw there were some chapters from his point of view, I looked a lot like this:

And there’s nothing more to say about that, really.

My favorite part about the book, though, was the ending. (View entire review with spoilers here.)

This entire trilogy is one of my favorites ever. I’m already ready to reread them all. If you haven’t read any of the books yet, it’s time to lock yourself in a room alone…and make sure you have all three books with you.

View all my reviews

Currently Listening To: Phillip Phillips – “Wicked Game”
Currently Reading: The Twelve Rooms of the Nile by Enid Shomer

5 thoughts on “Review: The Bitter Kingdom

  1. I feel the same way about this series. Rae Carson is an absolute genius. I will read EVERYTHING she writes, no matter what the genre. She’s a master of fantasy. Elisa is totally the kind of heroine I want to write–smart and brave and true. She’s amazing. And Hector. Oh, I love him so much. ❤

Leave a Reply

