What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #12

WUWFallWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

I read Allegiant in about eight hours, and while I didn’t love it as much as the first two books, I still loved it. Mostly because of Four’s chapters. I could’ve used more of those.

…but I’ll have to post an actual review at a later date.

Next I’ve just got to finish up my notes on Liz’s MS, and then I’m going to reread Divergent and Insurgent, which I meant to do before Allegiant came out but then The Bitter Kingdom was due back to the library. (I posted my review on Sunday. I had a lot of feelings about that one, too.)

What I’m Writing

Progress with FIRE has been hit and miss. I wrote about 4000 words of first draft a couple weeks ago, and then last week I worked 55 hours and managed a whopping 63 words.

And as far as SHARDS goes, I sent out a small batch of queries and now I’m WAITING. I’ve been remarkably zen about the whole thing, but that might be because I’ve just been too BUSY to think about it.

What Inspires Me Right Now

Getting ready for NaNo, because I just can’t stay away. Except this year I’m going to rebel by using the month to finish my rough draft of FIRE.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Well, since the last time I did one of these posts, my sister turned 21 and we went to dinner at the Space Needle to celebrate.

DSC00459
DSC00460
DSC00458

I also put together my Halloween costume, although I haven’t quite figured out where/when I’m going to actually wear it yet.

IMG_0179

19 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #12”

  1. I am reading Allegiant. I am nervous. We can maybe chat about all our feelings when I finish, though it will take me more than eight hours (woah, fast!) to finish.

    Congratulations on sending out queries and on being Zen. It has taken me about five requests and four rejections to get to the Zen place. I am still not sure I’m there. I really hope you are able to maintain your calm.

    Happy writing! I’m doing NaNo so we should be friends.

    1. It was weird, because I got my first rejection, and I was just sort of whatever over it. Because I thought about the other agents I haven’t heard back from yet, and the agents I have on my list to query next, and my current WIP. I’m not sure if it would hurt more if I got a rejection on a request, but so far I’ve been able to detach myself. (I’m surprised at myself for being able to do that, considering how long I spent working on SHARDS!)

      Ha. Being home alone and not being at work helped a lot with how fast I read the book 🙂

  2. Ahhh my copy of Allegiant came today but no-one was in and they didn’t post it through the door so I STILL DON’T HAVE IT! So close, so far…and deathly afraid of spoilers right now.

    63 words in a 55 hour work week is 63 more words than I would have written if I were you. So I’d call it a win 🙂

  3. I’m kind of rebelling with NaNo, too, because I’m already 12K into my draft, but I think it’s good to have a deadline! And as for Allegiant…I haven’t read it, but someone spoiled the ending for me already. 😦 Kind of gutted about that!

  4. I’m totally going to reread Divergent and Insurgent before Allegiant because I have the worst memory of what happens in books once I finish them. I’ve got lots of time though because I’m 95th on the list at my library to get it. :/
    Are you being Waldo for halloween?

    1. I think it would’ve been useful to reread, just for the little details I’d forgotten about. There’s no recap at the beginning of Allegiant, again.

      Yup, I am being Waldo for Halloween!

  5. That’s an amazing view! Wooooow, so beautiful 😀

    Ugh, I feel you with the long working hours. Hope it calms down and you can get to grips with your NaNo project.

    Have a fantastic week!

  6. I’m reading ALLEGIANT right now. I’m only about 60 pages in, but so far so good. I love Four’s chapters too (I refuse to use the name Tobias — ick!), and I can’t wait to see what’s “out there.” Best of luck with FIRE, Steph, and go you, being all NaNo rebellious! 🙂

  7. Still haven’t gotten around to reading the Divergent books, but now I’m thinking I really need to. =) And hey, I have weeks where I only write 63 words (or less) and don’t have the excuse of a 55 hour work week. I think you should be proud that you made the time to write in such a hectic and tiring week. *high five* Congrats on the queries! And kudos for being so zen. =)

  8. Okay, so, somehow I missed that you moved your blog! I saw your activity on Pinterest yesterday and was all, “Stephanie hasn’t posted in, live, forever!” And then I was perusing the WUW links on Jaime’s page just now, and lo and behold, it’s you!
    Anyhow. Hi! Good luck on your querying for SHARDS!

  9. Getting prepared for NaNo is inspiring and yet nerve wracking. Going to the space needle for dinner sounds like a great way to celebrate a birthday too 🙂

Leave a Reply

