Book Reviews

Review: A Dance with Dragons

A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire, #5)A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

At this point, I’m so invested in A Song of Ice and Fire that no matter how slow the book is moving, I’m going to finish it. And that’s the main thing that kept me going for most of A Dance with Dragons, which moved incredibly slowly and didn’t follow any of my favorite characters.

That being said, there were some positives. Namely, Theon’s chapters. I used to hate Theon with the fire of a thousand suns, but I’d always thought there was some redeeming quality in him. We see this in A Dance with Dragons and while I don’t like him, I don’t actively hate him anymore, either. It was really interesting to see his guilt at the things he’s done, his longing to be accepted, and even some glimpses of compassion. I found his chapters the most interesting ones of the book.

There was also one particular plot twist that I loved, although I can’t really go into too much detail because spoilers, obviously. But it’s going to have huge implications for the next book or two of the series, and I can’t wait to see it play out because it’s going to be epic. (Not as epic as the Red Wedding, but I don’t think anything can be.) We got some hints at what’s to come in the last 100 or so pages, so the previous 800 pages of food descriptions and Dany I slogged through were worth it.

Speaking of Dany, she does a lot of waffling between men in this book, becoming exactly the sort of heroine who annoys me. It didn’t get to the point where I hated her because that’s an emotion reserved for Joffrey and Cersei, but I do sincerely hope she regains touch with her inner awesome because she was so much more interesting then.

Overall, A Dance with Dragons was a solid installment in the A Song of Ice and Fire epic. It didn’t blow my mind like A Storm of Swords did, but given that I still haven’t recovered from that, it would take a lot to blow my mind.

View all my reviews

Currently Reading: By Referral Only by Lyla Payne

Leave a Reply

