Book Reviews

Review: Keeper of the Lost Cities

Keeper of the Lost Cities (Keeper of the Lost Cities, #1)Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I loved Keeper of the Lost Cities! It was fun, with all of the things I love in middle grade – genuine characters and friendship. There were some parallels to other things I’ve read that got distracting at times, but the positives far outweighed the negatives for me.

One thing that was a little distracting to me was the whole Sophie being the Chosen One thing, but no one would tell her what she was chosen for (and seriously, I’m pretty sure she was smart enough to understand if anyone had bothered to explain it to her). I’ve seen this in a lot of other books I’ve read, the two coming to mind being Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. That being said, I still loved Sophie as a main character because she seemed so genuine to me – her feelings of wanting to belong and her attempts to find her place in the world were realistic, and there were times when my heart really ached for her.

I also loved watching Sophie make friends for the first time in her life. I think that was my favorite part, because friendship was really the most important part of what happens toward the end, far more than Sophie’s amazing abilities. I loved that in the end, Sophie had to rely on her friends, because it showed that she’d learned to trust other people and realized that even though she was different, she still fit in.

Keeper bordered on being just a little bit too long, but I still breezed through it, and I think fans of Harry Potter or Rick Riordan’s books would love it. I can’t wait to read the next book!

View all my reviews

Currently Reading: The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
Currently Listening To: Trace Adkins – “Honky Tonk Badonkadonk”

2 thoughts on “Review: Keeper of the Lost Cities”

Leave a Reply

