Book Reviews

Review: Just One Year

Just One Year (Just One Day, #2)Just One Year by Gayle Forman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.5/5

After that ending to Just One Day, I spent a lot of time agonizing over what was going to happen. I’d had a feeling Willem wasn’t a bad guy, but I still wanted to read his side of the story and find out for sure. And, sure enough, in Just One Year we found out there was a lot more to him than initially appeared, and I ended up liking him a lot more than I did in Just One Day.

Over the course of Just One Year, we find out why Willem is a nomadic womanizer. We learn about his relationship with his family, and how that has shaped who he is. As the book progresses, we also get to see Willem’s realization that he’s missing something, what that something is, and his journey toward finding it. Watching him try to form new relationships with his family was one of the most satisfying parts of the book.

For Willem, there was also a tension between wanting something and being afraid of having it that was interesting to see play out, especially since this is a feeling I think a lot of people can relate to. This was my favorite aspect of Willem, because it made him so normal and easy to relate to, dispelling the mystery that surrounds him in Just One Day. Also, if I’m being really honest, there’s a part of me that can relate to that part of Willem, which I think is part of the reason I ended up liking him so much.

I think the only aspect in which the book fell flat for me was in the setting – it just didn’t come to life quite as much for me as it did in Just One Day. I think this might’ve been because Willem had other things on his mind during his travels, whereas for Allyson, everything was new and different for her.

Just One Year was a fantastic companion to Just One Year, with the combination of self-discovery and romance I loved about the first book.

View all my reviews

Currently Listening To: Justin Timberlake – “TKO”
Currently Reading: Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

1 thought on “Review: Just One Year”

Leave a Reply

