What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #16

WUW Winter Holly 1What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

I take my Kindle with me to work since it’s easy to stick into whatever bag I’m carrying, so I’ve been working through Anna Karenina in bits and pieces during breaks and while waiting for the bus, etc. (I’m only 3% in, which is something like 50 pages. Lol wut.)

Over Thanksgiving I read Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson, which might be one of my favorite reads this year. Hopefully I’ll get to post a review this weekend; I was still too distraught to post one when I finished it!

Now I’m reading The Great Gatsby, which I never read in high school because my AP English class junior year (when one usually reads American lit, I think) focused on nonfiction. As I’d hoped, I’m loving it so far.

What I’m Writing

I finished NaNo with 21,559 words, which is 21k more words than I had at the beginning of the month, so I’m calling that a win! I hit 46k on the first draft of FIRE earlier this week, and I think I’ve still got about 30k left to write, so hopefully I’ll be able to get that done sometime in the next month or two. (I would love to say I’ll finish it over winter break, but I’ll most likely spend my entire winter break working the retail job, so that’s probably just a touch optimistic of me.)

What Inspires Me Right Now

Staying inside! I mean, with this situation going on outside, there is no way I’m leaving the house unless I need to:

Screen Shot 2013-12-04 at 8.51.06 AM

Which means I should have no excuses not to write, right? Also I got this totally awesome mug from Megan yesterday for #SipSwap, so I’m going to have plenty of warm beverages to keep me company:

Photo on 12-3-13 at 5.08 PMHenry VIII’s wives disappear when you pour hot liquids into the mug HOW COOL IS THAT.

What Else I’m Up To

I went home for a couple days last week and hung out with the dog and played with him and took him for walks and now we’re BFFs. I also watched lots of football on Thursday and ate lots of food. And then Friday morning I came back up here because I had to work Friday-Sunday, because that’s what happens when you work retail and it’s the holidays. I was so exhausted by the end of that bit of madness, I crashed at 10 on Sunday night and didn’t wake up until 8 Monday morning. Having to talk to insane amounts of people was just a little much for this introvert, apparent. (The highlight was on Friday night, when I was talking to people waiting in line, and they didn’t know quite what to do with me because I was so cracked out on caffeine at that point.)

What have you been up to?

6 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #16

  1. Hahaha, that mug is awesome 😀

    Congrats on getting so much written last month, that’s fantastic!

    Best of luck with everything. Hope it’s a great week for you. Stay warm!

  2. I love your mug! And congrats on your NaNo “win.” I think it’s best to use November to do what you can to progress your writing. Even if you don’t hit the 50K mark, you’re still a more prolific writer today than you were November 1st. 🙂 Hope you have a great week, Steph!

  3. I love those mugs! I bought a disappearing Tardis one and a disappearing Cheshire one for a couple friends. SO COOL.

    Congrats on the word count for NaNo! That’s 21k more words than me! haha.

Leave a Reply

