YA Superlatives Blogfest

Class of 2013: YA Superlatives, Day 1

Jessica LoveKaty UppermanTracey Neithercott, and Alison Miller are hosting the YA Superlatives Blogfest again this year, which is a chance for us all to highlight our favorite 2013 reads. Stay tuned this week to find out which awesome C2013 Buttonbooks you need to read!

All covers will link to Goodreads pages for easy addition to to-read shelves 🙂

Day One: Head of the Class

Favorite Dystopian

10576365 Yes, I know that this one was technically a 2012 release. But since it was released after last year’s superlatives, I made an executive decision to include it. What made The Darkest Minds stand out just a little bit more than some of the other choices I was considering was the emotion that was present throughout the novel, whether it was Ruby’s feelings of guilt and inadequacy, or some of the other things that happened. I read this book in January, and I still haven’t recovered from the emotional thrashing it gave me. If you liked the blend of dystopian and paranormal elements combined with a little more emotion in Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, you’ll probably like this one, too.

[Read my review here.]

Favorite Science Fiction

13253276Through the Ever Night was, in my opinion, even better than Under the Never Sky. For one thing, Aria was far less annoying. (I mean, I get that it was necessary for her character development, but still.) Also, there was a lot more Roar, and how could that possibly be a bad thing? We also got a chance to see even more of the dangers of the world outside the pods, not to mention the ways in which Aria and Perry’s relationship was tested. I can’t wait for the last book!

Favorite Fantasy

I read this entire series over the summer, because once I read The Girl of Fire and Thorns, IBitter Kingdom couldn’t stop. I loved how different Elisa was from a lot of other fantasy heroines – she wasn’t a BAMF at first and she had no confidence and she wasn’t model-pretty. These books were all about Elisa learning how to believe in herself, and I think anyone – not just teens – can learn from Elisa’s struggles. The Bitter Kingdom was possibly the most satisfying series finale I’ve ever read. I was sad to leave these characters, but at the same time, I felt good about where things ended for all of them.

[Read my review here.]

Favorite Contemporary

Just One DayI loved watching Allyson’s journey in Just One Day as she figured out what she wanted, how to go after what she wanted, and how to stand up for what she wanted. At first glance it seems like a light read, but there’s really a lot to be taken away from it, which tend to be the contemps I love the most, I’m noticing.

[Read my review here.]

Favorite Action/Adventure

I really liked Legend, although I felt like something was missing. Prodigy erased pretty muchProdigy allof the reservations I’d had about Legend and then some. There was plenty of action to be had – which kept me turning pages quickly – but there was the characters and the world building to back it up so there was substance to it, as well. Also, that ending, right?

[Read my review here.]

Favorite Historical Fiction

DTI read Grave Mercy at the recommendation of several people during last year’s YA Superlatives, and I loved it so much, finding out Dark Triumph was about to come out was the best news ever. Assassin nuns are awesome, but so are all of the political games said nuns get involved in, not to mention how much I love the romances. The last book in this trilogy is one of the books I’m looking forward to the most for next year.

[Read my review here.]

Favorite Mystery

The conflict in Taken revolves around Gray’s search for answers to the mystery of what Takenhappens to boys when they turn eighteen – where are they all disappearing to? Even though I guessed the Big Reveal ahead of time, there were still enough surprises after that that this was still one of my favorite reads of the year and I can’t wait to see what happens next! (Also, can we talk about how awesome that cover is? It’s pretty awesome.)

[Read my review here.]

Favorite Romance

And The Bitter Kingdom takes another category! But seriously, though, can we talk about Elisa and Hector? And by Elisa and Hector, I mostly mean Hector. That is all.

But seriously, though, their romance was the perfect blend of sweet and steamy, not to mention Hector was a genuinely good guy – which is shocking, I know, in light of my decided partisanship for Warner and the Darkling.

(Fair warning: this week will most likely be a The Bitter Kingdom love fest. Because reasons.)

15754483Favorite Family Drama

If you’ve read Melina Marchetta’s Lumatere Chronicles series, you’ll understand why I chose Quintana of Charyn as my favorite family drama of the year. One of the many, many highlights of the book for me was watching a group of strangers try to figure out how to function together like a family – or if they even could be a family, after all that happened.

[Read my review here.]

Favorite Genre Bender

I had my issues with Level 2, but I did love how effortlessly it blended science fiction, Level 2dystopian, and paranormal elements to create a unique world.

[Read my review here.]

What were your favorite 2013 releases?

13 thoughts on “Class of 2013: YA Superlatives, Day 1”

  1. You have three series on this list that I really need to finish reading already! (Rae Carson’s, Melina Marchetta’s, and Marie Lu’s) Next up for me is re-reading THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS as a refresher to get going on the rest of trilogy. Can’t wait! Loved THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT, and I have to say, it’s one of those books that doesn’t suffer from saggy middle book syndrome, so that’s awesome. 🙂

    1. If anything, Through the Ever Night was even better than the first book, which doesn’t happen that often (although there were a few books I read this year where the second book was better than the first). And yes, finish The Girl of Fire and Thorns series!

  2. Stephanie, I’ve read almost NONE of these! Good exec decision with THE DARKEST MINDS. I have that on my Kindle and I haven’t read it yet, but it got a lot of positive buzz when it first came out. Great list that gives me a lot of titles to think about! I do love the cover of TAKEN, too. 🙂

  3. Hector. Yeah. *sighs* That romance is so sexy, so sweet, so totally complete. That’s a satisfying series as a whole. Also, you are not the first to mention the Lumatere Chronicles, and now I am obsessed with reading them.

  4. I would have never thought to include QUINTANA as “Family Drama” but you’re so right — it’s a book full of messy, messy families. But, it’s so amazing too. 🙂 Awesome choices, Steph!

Leave a Reply

