YA Superlatives Blogfest

Class of 2013: YA Superlatives, Day 3

Jessica LoveKaty UppermanTracey Neithercott, and Alison Miller are hosting the YA Superlatives Blogfest againC2013 Button this year, which is a chance for us all to highlight our favorite 2013 reads. Stay tuned this week to find out which awesome books you need to read!

All book covers lead to Goodreads pages.

Day Three: Elements of Fiction

Most Envy-Inducing Plot

12558285A really creative retelling of Alice in Wonderland that made me jealous because I’m sure I could never come up with anything so original were I to attempt a retelling. Also, it gave a darker spin to Wonderland, which I also loved.

[Read my review here.]

Most Formidable World

Um, a world in which aliens pretend to be humans specifically so they can gain your trust and then shoot you in your sleep? I’d rather take on an entire horde of 5thWavezombies, thanks. At least I’ll know who my enemy is, not to mention the whole lack of superior intelligence thing.

But really, though, I need to consider more seriously my alien apocalypse survival plan (or, you know, have one).

Wanderlust-Inducing

Bronze and GoldI really liked how Jane Nickerson described Mississippi, and the setting was one of the strengths of this one. Mississippi has never been one of my top destinations for when I have buckets full of money to travel (lol), but I might consider going now.

[Read my review here.]

Loveliest Prose

I raved about Splintered, but it was for good reason. One of those good reasons was the writing, which was beautiful enough that it beat out Lauren Oliver in this category (I know, right?).

His palm rests on the knob so I can’t try to shut him out again. Rain droplets glisten along his sleek hair, which no doubt took gallons of glaze and hours to perfect. It’s the one part of his appearance Taelor will actually approve of.
As for me, I favour the messy look – hair out of sorts, body slicked in sweat with motor oil or watercolours splashed across his olive skin.

That’s the Jeb I grew up with. The one I could count on. The one I’ve lost.

Most Dynamic Main Character

Willem starts out as being afraid to confront his family issues and afraid to get truly attached to someone, but over theJust One Year course of the book lets go of his demons and learns to let people in. This might be my favorite transformation of the books I’ve read this year.

[Read my review here.]

Most Jaw-Dropping Ending

AllegiantUm. Duh.

[Read my review here.]

Best Performance in a Supporting Role

It’s no secret how much I love Roar. In fact, Roar is my favorite character in this series. I mean, really, can he just have his own series after this one is over? I would give Veronica Rossi even more of my money, no questions asked.

Roar flashed a grin. “Aria, this isn’t intimate. If I were being intimate with you, 13253276trust me, you’d know.”
She rolled her eyes. “Next time you say something like that, you should toss a red rose and then leave with a swish of your cape.”

Best Use of Theme

Part of me knows one more day won’t do anything except postpone the heartbreak. But another part of me believes differently. We are born in one day. We die in one day. We can change in one day. And we can fall in love in one day. Anything can happen in just one day.

12842115

 

8 thoughts on “Class of 2013: YA Superlatives, Day 3”

  1. I love that quote from THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT, and I haven’t read those books yet, and I want to just to get the context of that quote.

    ALLEGIANT, duh squared.

    Alien survival plan…yeah, always good to have.

  2. Love Roar! He’s so funny and charming. Sigh. And I laughed out loud at “Um. Duh.” in reference to ALLEGIANT’s ending. Um, yeah. Have to agree with that. Also agree with your choice of THE 5TH WAVE. I picked it for formidable world, too. I think you’ve nailed on the head what’s so freaky about it: an enemy that looks just like you. Eek!

  3. Splintered truly did have amazing prose, didn’t it? I couldn’t decide between that one and The Sea of Tranquility for that category. It was a close call.

    I’m about halfway through the Just One Day audio, so I’m waiting for Willem’s transformation…

    1. It took the longest time for Willem to click for me. Like, I kept reading because after the ending of Just One Day I had to, but I didn’t really understand him until closer to the end. Which was one of my only complaints with the book.

  4. Your choices are making me rethink all of mine! THE 5TH WAVE is a perfect pick for Formidable World, and Willem is definitely a super dynamic character. Now I just need to read SPLINTERED. 🙂

  5. I love Roar and he’s also my favorite character in that series. I would LOVE to see more of him. Just One Day was great with themes, and I’m excited to finish Just One Year now that I see you’ve put Willem in the dynamic character category. Gayle Forman is just so good at the whole transformation thing.

Leave a Reply

