YA Superlatives Blogfest

Class of 2013: YA Superlatives, Day 4

Jessica LoveKaty UppermanTracey Neithercott, and Alison Miller are hosting the YA Superlatives Blogfest C2013 Buttonagain this year, which is a chance for us all to highlight our favorite 2013 reads. Stay tuned this week to find out which awesome books you need to read! All book covers lead to Goodreads pages. Day Four: Best in Show Favorite Cover 13253276 Cutest Couple — Scarlet & Wolf from Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Her mind emptied of everything but the gusting wind and how fragile Wolf looked in that heartbeat, like one movement could break him open.

WingerMost Likely to Succeed

Winger reminded me a lot of John Green’s stuff. So this one pretty much wrote itself.

Most Likely to Make You Miss Your Bedtime

Come to think of it, all three books in this series made me miss my bedtime. I got soBitter Kingdom attached to all of the characters, not to mention I had to find out what would happen with Elisa and Hector, and, of course, I had to watch Elisa being her awesome self. As soon as I finished this one, I wanted to immediately read all three books again.

Best Repeat Performance

Through the Ever Night was so much better than Under the Never Sky. It starts fast, and never lets up until the end. We also learn a lot more about some characters, and we don’t have to deal with any annoying characters before we get to the good parts (sorry, Aria, but seriously).

Favorite Finale

I guess this is the part where I warn you today is going to be a The Bitter Kingdom love fest. There were some really fantastic series finales this year, but The Bitter Kingdom was the most satisfying, leaving us and all of the characters in a really good place.

Romance Most Worthy of an Ice Bath — Elisa & Hector from The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson

“But you and I – ” he brushes the collar of the gown aside – “are students of knowledge. We believe in careful practice to attain perfection.”

12558285Breakout Novel

Splintered was my favorite debut of the year. I know I’ve already talked about how original it was and how beautifully it was written, but it always bears repeating. I think it’s safe to say that I’ll read anything A.G. Howard writes.

Most Likely to Make a Grown Man Cry

When I finished The Darkest Minds, I sat on the couch, sobbing and clutching my book10576365 to my chest. I haven’t even read Never Fade yet, even though I own it, because I still haven’t recovered to the emotional trauma this book inflicted on me.

Most Pleasant Surprise

Winger isn’t my usual cup of tea, so I was surprised by how much I loved it. What really stood out for me were the friendships, especially Ryan Dean’s friendship with Joey, and also how Ryan Dean explored his own misconceptions about a straight male being friends with a gay male. And he did it in a way that was realistic and funny, which just made it that much more awesome.

TakenMost Creative Use of a Love Triangle

I know there are a lot of Opinions about the romance in Taken, but I loved the fact that the love triangle was flipped around, so instead of two guys vying for the same girl, it was two girls vying for the same guy.

Sleeper Hit

Altered had it all: a fast-paced plot; a heroine who questions things and kicks seriousAltered butt; genuine focus on real, actual friendship; and hot dudes (several of them). I had an almost impossible time putting this book down, so I hope more people pick this book up.

[Read my review here.]

Fire and ThornsBest Old-Timer

Because Rae Carson gets ALL the awards today, apparently. And because Elisa is the realest heroine I’ve encountered possibly ever.

[Read my review here.]

Favorite Outlier

Broken at Love was my first real taste of New Adult, and now I’m hooked. Broken at LoveRecommended if you’re looking for an awesome heroine who unapologetically goes for what she wants to go with your romance.

[Read my review here.]

Favorite Honorable Mention

aka the book I loved, but didn’t make it in any of the other categories

Tie – All Our Yesterdays & Reboot

All Our YesterdaysReboot

14 thoughts on “Class of 2013: YA Superlatives, Day 4

  1. Ooh I have Broken At Love on my kindle to read during my Christmas vacation -can’t wait!

    Two 2013 books I really liked but didn’t make any of the categories were MIND GAMES by Kiersten White and SOME QUIET PLACE by Kelsey Sutton. Not sure why they didn’t fit anywhere!

  2. You picked a really good “Your Choice” category. There were books I read and enjoyed this year that didn’t make it onto any of my lists, which is kind of a bummer. It’s funny what you said about THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT vs. UNDER THE NEVER SKY. I remember picking up the first book and almost putting it down after the first chapter or so. I seem to recall it being weird made up lingo (intended to sound futuristic) that I found jarring and, well, weird. I’m SO glad I stuck with it, though!

  3. Ryan Dean’s friendship with Joey, and his thoughts about it, is the best thing ever. That’s why this book works so well. Love!

    My honorable mention is The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler. I loved it, but I didn’t squeeze it in anywhere except my own bonus category today.

  4. Um. That line from THE BITTER KINGDOM, I need to revisit that scene, and then all the other hot ones. Rae Carson always wins in my opinion. I have met her three times now and still can’t seem to locate words other than, “Awesome. You.” In that order. Also, I pet her and then run away. I DON’T KNOW.

    WINGER’s mention on so many of the Superlative lists means I must read it. John Green comparison means I’ll likely hate and love it more than I ever want to.

    1. It sounds like you’ve been more articulate when meeting Rae Carson than I would be. But really, I just need to revisit ALL the scenes. SO GOOD.

      Simultaneously loving and hating Winger about sums it up.

  5. Okay, so I totally need to read The Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy. And oh, how I love Wolf and Scarlet (just wait until CRESS!). And, AHHH, THE DARKEST MINDS will make me cry?! I really want to read that, but I’m hesitant of books that could make me cry. Nice list!

Leave a Reply

