What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #19

WUW Winter Holly 1What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

Last week I read The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson. I loved it (I read it in two sittings), but felt like the ending wrapped things up a little too neatly. Now I’m reading Pivot Point by Kasie West, which is entertaining, although I probably won’t be gushing about it like a lot of people did.

What I’m Writing

A lot of sub notes? I spent most of last week asleep because I was sick, so that’s pretty much it. Except for the 450 words I wrote yesterday! That was exciting.

What Inspires Me

The Seattle Times homepage on Monday morning!
The Seattle Times homepage on Monday morning!

The Seahawks won the Super Bowl! I’d expected a game that was actually, you know, a game (me and everyone else…), but it was awesome to see all of our guys doing so well, especially since so many of them were players everyone else underestimated because they didn’t fit some preconceived notion of what a “great” NFL player is supposed to be.

Also, Russell Wilson’s whole “Why not us?” philosophy? Love it.

What Else I’m Up To

Like I said, I spent most of last week asleep. I dragged myself through work Sunday-Tuesday in a DayQuil-induced haze, and then when I got home Tuesday afternoon, I didn’t leave my house again until work on Saturday.

Fortunately I was feeling better on Sunday, since we were hosting a Super Bowl party! I didn’t take many pictures since there wasn’t any time between all the touchdowns, but my roommate did make sure she got this one:

"Stephi's time out chair"
“Stephie’s Time-Out Chair”

Fortunately, I never needed to use the chair because I behaved myself the entire game 🙂

What have you been up to?

8 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #19”

  1. My husband and son are Broncos fans so I had some consoling to do after the Superbowl. Yikes. Congrats on your team winning though! Glad you’re feeling better and that you’re back to writing after being sick!

  2. Ha – I thought the last game (Seahawks vs. 49ers) was SUCH an awesome game. It really set my expectations high for the BIG game. I was pretty surprised to see the Broncos get so … crushed. With that said, it was very cool that Seattle won. 🙂 And I love that “Why not us?” thing too. What a powerful question!

    Have a great week.

  3. I enjoyed PIVOT POINT, but I didn’t think it was amazing like some people did. There was some weird past tense stuff going on and I felt like it should have been so much more awesome than it was. I did like Trevor as a love interest, though. I was sick this week too, so I know what you mean about not getting all that much done. I spent two straight days semi-conscious on the couch lol. Here’s to a better week, right?

Leave a Reply

