What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #20

WUW Winter Holly 1What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

Last week I finished

  • These Broken Stars, which I really liked, although I had some problems with it, mostly in the romance department.
  • Pivot Point, which was mostly just all right for me. A quick, entertaining read. I’m planning to read the sequel.
  • If You Find Me, which pretty much just blew my mind.

Now I’m reading Middlesex and Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour.

What I’m Writing

Words! Hooray! Most of them were on the WIP I’m drafting, but at least I’ve got words flowing again. And, as an added bonus, that first draft seems surprisingly not-awful so far.

I wracked my brain for ideas on making myself useful as the fighting continued. Aside from acting as a human shield in order to give Amdorius enough time to come to terms with his imminent demise, not much came to mind.

My options against a mage were distressingly limited.

Also, it’s really weird to be writing this one in past tense when I’ve been writing FIRE in present tense.

What Inspires Me

Yet again, an Imagine Dragons song is making me itch to make some progress on FIRE.

What Else I’m Up To

Same as usual…

24 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #20”

  1. My husband and I both read Middlesex as sort of our own book club. This was quite awhile ago, but we still talk about aspects of that book. It’s an epic. I admire his writing; The Virgin Suicides is one of my favorite books, bleak as it is.

  2. That’s great that you’re getting new words down. I especially love that last line of the snippet you shared–so hooky! I’m totally on a YA fantasy kick, so this obviously appeals to me. Especially since I’m plotting/brainstorming my own YA fantasy right now. I’m so used to writing in first person present tense, but I decided to go with third person past tense this time around and I have to say I’m really liking it. Have a great week, Stephanie, writing- and otherwise!

  3. All those books are on TBR pile! I can’t wait to dive into all of them. These Broken Stars is up next, curious to see what’s up the romance now! Glad the words are coming to you, it’s such a freeing feeling. And I love Imagine Dragons!

  4. I love Bleeding Out by Imagine Dragons. I’ve got a few of their songs on my WIP playlist, Demons being my favorite. That’s awesome the words are flowing again for you! Great snippet too btw! Hope it’s a great writing week for you and that you enjoy AMY & ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR. That’s a good one!

  5. Imagine Dragons is my go-to for writing music too! Bleeding Out is my all time favorite song. Doesn’t it seem like the perfect theme song for the Hunger Games trilogy?
    Great work on your WIP! And I’m envious of all the awesome books you’ve gotten to read 🙂

Leave a Reply

