Film & Television Reviews

Film Review: Divergent

Warning: Contains Spoilers, Probably

divergent-poster-full

I saw Divergent opening day. Overall, I was happy with it. I could tell that all of the people involved respected the original source material, and I loved how vividly all of Veronica Roth’s characters and the world came to life.

As much as I loved the visuals, though, I feel like they also played a huge part in the movie being Really Good to me, as opposed to Amazing. To me, it felt like there was a huge emphasis on the visuals, as opposed to character development. There were some relationships I would’ve liked to have seen developed more. In particular, the relationship between Tris and Al. Was Al even named in the movie? Also, I really would’ve loved to have actually seen how Al was losing it during training. It would’ve made the scene where he helps Peter try to throw her in the chasm – a major plot point – all the more powerful. If you hadn’t read the book, you wouldn’t have really understood the real significance of that moment, or how much of a betrayal it really was to Tris.

I loved Tris, though. I wasn’t entirely sold on Shailene Woodley when she was initially cast, but she did a good job portraying Tris’s inner strength. Tris’s character development was done well, showing us how she had to work to find her inner rockstar. The fact that Tris had to work so hard to come out ahead was always what I loved about her, so I’m glad that came across in the movie.

I know everyone is singing Theo James’s praises (for good reason, because he was everything I’d hoped to see in Four), but I really want to talk about Miles Teller for a moment, because he was flawless as Peter. Which I didn’t expect because my only exposure to him is in somewhat goofier roles, but he turned out to be one of my favorite parts about the movie. Also, he made me actually sort of like Peter

Divergent didn’t wow me like certain recent film adaptations did, but it was still a really good adaptation of one of my favorite books. And that’s really what I was hoping for.

4 thoughts on “Film Review: Divergent”

  1. I really have to agree with you, Stephanie. Especially with what you had to say about the Tris and Al relationship. I think that could have been developed a bit better, because it was *definitely* more gripping in the book. I remember being stunned at this particular betrayal. I felt like the actors who played Al and Will looked a little too similar at times, too. Overall, I thought they did a pretty darn good job adapting this book, even if I have a few nitpicky things to say about it. Great review! 🙂

    1. Yes! They did look similar! And I think Edward might have looked similar to both of them, too. (I think that was Edward? He didn’t really do anything in the movie, so I’m not sure.)

Leave a Reply

