What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #23

Tree70%What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

Last week I started The Queen’s Choice by Cayla Kluver, but had to return it to the library before I could finish it. (I’ve been so bad about that lately.) I’ve started A Dragonfly in Amber, the sequel to Outlander, and I like it so far.

What I’m Writing

Not much, still. I’m about 2k into Camp NaNo so far, so we can see how that’s been going.

What Inspires Me

Still spring.

What Else I’m Up To

Last night I went and saw the new Captain America movie, and it was SO MUCH BETTER than the first one. I was lukewarm about the first one because of the lack of explosions, but this more than made up for it. Although I think Steve and Natasha’s friendship might’ve been my favorite part.

Now I need to catch up on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. because I’ve heard there are some things in the next couple episodes that are related to the movie?

18 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #23”

  1. I felt the same way about the first Captain America, with the added bonus that I thought he time-traveled to be in the future (rather than being frozen and waiting it out under the sea) so I kept waiting for the point in the movie where he did that, and it just didn’t happen. LOL. I LOVED Winter Soldier with the passion of a thousand suns, though. I think it helps that the movie felt more like a group superhero movie ala Avengers than a movie about one white dude. Also Sam Wilson is my new pretend boyfriend.

    Even 2k is 2,000 words! Hurrah!

    1. OMG I LOVE SAM. And I agree about the tone – it definitely had more of the group feel. Also, I felt like it had more humor than the first Captain America did, which I also approved of.

  2. I’ve really got to get to the cinema to see Captain America. I quite liked the first one.

    Hang in there with Camp NaNo. It’s still early days 😀

    Have a fantastic week!

  3. I loved Captain America 2, but I’m still partial to the first one mainly because of the era it was set in. That said, Steve Rogers will always be my favourite Avenger. Honestly, I will never tire of all of these Avenger movies.

    I really need to make another attempt at getting through the OUTLANDER series. I loved the first book, but for some dumb reason I’ve never made it past the middle of the third book. Probably the time commitment with such hefty books. I love her writing, so I really should get back to them.

    As for spring, I’m totally inspired by it, too. Keep it coming, Mother Nature!

    1. Captain America is also my favorite Avenger. And it has nothing to do with the movies 😉

      I agree about the time commitment thing. I’ve been about halfway through the Wheel of Time books since high school because of how hefty those ones are. But now that the series is actually finished, I might give it another go – although it’s been so long, I’m probably just going to have to start over. Sigh.

  4. I really liked Captain America 1 and I’m super excited to see the 2nd one this weekend! I’ve got some Shield episodes to catch up on too, but maybe after I’ve seen the movie!

    1. I binge watched the five or so I had left to watch after the movie. Definitely don’t watch the most recent one until you’ve seen the movie because it runs parallel to the movie.

  5. Okay, I LOVED the first Captain America so clearly I need to see the new one! And yes – I hear that too about Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Sounds like you’re doing great with camp nano! Go YOU!

  6. Glad to hear that about Captain 2 since I was just so-so on the first. Yes, Agents of Shield from last night definitely seemed related (from what I can tell without seeing Cap 2) – Shield fell, Hydra rose.

  7. 2000 words is still 2000 words! Well done! I loooved Captain America 2, how awesome was Sam!? I hope he and Tony Stark get to meet in another movie, because they would get along so well.

    Also, shamelessly attracted to the Winter Solider, not gonna lie. In the first movie I was a bit “meh” about him, but in this one it was like, “Hellooo, Russian version of [insert spoiler here]!”. 😉

  8. I have GOT to get to Captain America! I keep hearing such good things about it. I was lukewarm on the first one, too.

    I loved the Outlander series but the funny thing is I got several books into it and I just got burned out on it. I think I should’ve read some stuff in between. I can’t remember where I left off anymore. But, oh, Jamie! And Jamie and Claire together… hmmm… I think a re-read might be in order! Have a great weekend.

  9. Ah, another OUTLANDER fan! I enjoy Diana Gabaldon’s books too. A few years ago, I got to attend a reading she did at my local bookstore, which was very cool. The series is getting a tad long now (overstatement), so while I’m looking forward to the next book, I think it’s time for her to wrap things up.

    I really need to go see Captain America asap. I’ve heard it’s really good (my family loves all the super hero flicks), and I’d kind of like to be able to watch S.H.E.I.L.D. without the spoilers too. Maybe this weekend I’ll squeeze it in. Good luck with your Camp NaNo Project!

    1. I was a little hesitant to read the other books after Outlander once I realized just how many there are, because I think it easily could’ve been a standalone. But I’m a sucker for historical fiction (and Jamie, obviously), so we’ll see how many I can get through before I get burned out…

Leave a Reply

