What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #26

Tree70%What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

I finished Gypsy and really loved it. (Also, it’s on sale for $.99!) I’ll post a review of that one later this week. I also made a little progress in Anna Karenina (why am I still trying at this point?) and finally read Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas and am now experiencing a serious book hangover.

Now I’m reading Stolen Away by Alyxandra Harvey. Which I’m not enjoying as much as A Breath of Frost, which might be because I was really looking for a good historical fantasy when I read that one. But the voice is really good so far.

What I’m Writing

I wrote yesterday…and that’s it. That’s all I’ve gotten since last week. I’ve been writing lots of OTHER things, but none of them are writing-related, unfortunately. (They are, however, related to having a roof over my head and food in my refrigerator, so there’s that.)

What Inspires Me Right Now

THE SCHOOL YEAR IS ALMOST OVER. And by “almost”, I mean we have a month left. BUT STILL.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Subbing…a lot! Which has been more exhausting than usual because kids, man. Like I said, we’re getting to the end of the school year, plus it’s state testing month, plus the weather the past three weeks has been either ridiculously nice or ridiculously gross. So, basically, everything is crazy pants. It’s just a fact of life.

I went home for Mothers’ Day. Getting home Friday night was…an experience. My train ran someone over ten minutes from my station, so we were stuck there for almost two and a half hours because the train was part of the crime scene. And then the train got in three minutes before the VERY LAST FERRY was supposed to leave, but fortunately the VERY VERY AWESOME Washington State Ferries employees radioed up to hold the boat a couple minutes when they saw me running from the train. So my streak of terrible luck with Amtrak continues.

Fortunately, the rest of my weekend wasn’t this eventful.

The people who put up with me, taking Little Dude for a walk (everything was SO INTERESTING) and an Obligatory Mount Rainier Picture.
The people who put up with me, taking Little Dude for a walk (everything was SO INTERESTING), and an Obligatory Mount Rainier Picture.
8 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #26”

  1. I’m pretty sure A Breath of Frost is on my TBR list – I’m glad to hear it’s a good read! 🙂

    Wow that journey home sounds awful! If I was stuck on an unmoving train for that long I’d go insane (especially if I didn’t have a book with me). It’s good to know the rest of your weekend wasn’t quite so hectic!

    Have a great week!

  2. Oh my gosh, that’s horrible about the train! I’m happy to hear the rest of your weekend wasn’t so poopy and awful. Eek. Great pictures, by the way! On the subbing front, I haven’t subbed since that one time. I’m happy to hear you’re getting lots of shifts in. I’m hoping this next year brings either more subbing or a teaching position (for both of us!), but we’ll see.

    CROWN OF MIDNIGHT was so, so good. How on earth are we going to wait until September for HEIR OF FIRE? I hear you on Tolstoy. I’m at a standstill with WAR AND PEACE. Have been for some time now. Maybe I’ll pick it up today. Maybe. Hope you have a wonderful week, Stephanie! And that things are a little less crazypants. 🙂

    1. I’ve never understood why Russian authors need to be so wordy. I still want to give War and Peace a try because I loved the miniseries I watched, but it definitely won’t be for awhile.

  3. Oh geez about the train! Last time I was in D.C. and took the metro (subway), I decided to cut my trip short because there was a long delay. I found out later it was because someone was hit on the tracks. Disturbing.

    ANNA KARENINA is one of those “classics” I plan to eventually read. I’m sure it’ll take me about half a year to get through it.

    1. I can’t even begin to imagine the mess that must have made. I’ve ridden the metro before, and that would be so many trains backed up, I’m sure.

      I’m going on eight months with Anna Karenina, I think. It definitely could’ve been a few hundred pages shorter.

  4. Oh my gosh. I don’t know what I would do if that happened. That’s horrible. But I’m glad you made it home! I love love love Sarah J. Maas and CANNOT wait until September. I’m with you on the low writing. I’ve taken a few steps back to plot some things out and then am going to try starting this WIP again. Also–send me more chapters!

    1. We all ended up doing the only thing we could do in that situation, which was to go purchase overpriced adult beverages. In fact, it was the only thing the dining car had left because normally no one would be desperate enough to pay $7 for a beer 😉

      I’ll be home all day tomorrow so I was planning on sending you more chapters then 🙂

Leave a Reply

