What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #28

Tree70%What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

I was really lucky with the books this week!
I was really lucky with the books this week!

I devoured all three of the books I got through this week, because they were all that good. I also loved how despite the differences in settings (Edwardian England, 19th Century France, Present Day U.S.), the themes were the same: all of these girls just wanted the freedom to live the lives they wanted, or to at least figure out what lives they wanted.

I just started The Red Queen’s Daughter, so I’m hoping to continue my streak of awesome reads.

What I’m Writing

Over the weekend I switched things up a little by dusting off OPAQUE (the sequel to SHARDS) just so I could have fun with something that might never see the light of day. Writing is writing.

What Inspires Me Right Now

Whatever your thoughts on #YesAllWomen over the weekend, I am inspired by how brave the other women sharing were. The things I shared are nothing compared to what some of them have gone through. Which is just disturbing and sad, when I think about it. I shouldn’t feel “lucky” because none of the guys who have harassed me on the street have decided to follow me, and I shouldn’t have to carry pepper spray because it happens often enough that I qualify statements like “I’ve never been followed” with “yet”.

…and that’s all that’s going to show up on the blog on that topic.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Trying and failing to resist Memorial Day sales. Oops.

16 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #28

  1. I loved Something Real! Haven’t read the others but that book made me happy.

    All writing is writing! Sometimes you just write what inspires you even if it’s not what you’re supposed to be working on.

    The #YesAllWomen tag was incredible and so inspiring.

  2. A Mad, Wicked Folly has such a pretty cover! I think what you’ve been reading really ties into the #YesAllWomen campaign to be honest; it’s kind of sad that we still need to write fiction about women wanting freedom in the present day, don’t you think? I’m loving the campaign – I hope people are finally starting to realise that we really do live in a patriarchy.

    I have a book called The Stolen One by Suzanne Crowley which sounds quite similar to The Red Queen’s Daughter in many ways – still need to read it, though!

    Have a great week!

    1. I was thinking that about those books. I think my favorite historical fiction stories are still relevant today…although I wish the patriarchal element were less relevant.

  3. The #YesAllWomen campaign was both sad and inspiring. Sad to see how many women have gone through such tough things and inspiring that they’re putting it out there.
    I’m still waiting for A Mad Wicked Folly from my library- I’m excited to read it.

  4. Hello, Stephanie! I’m also inspired by the extraordinary women letting their brave voices be heard. I hope it continues to trend and inspires positive action for human rights and world-wide equality.

    Good luck with the writing! You’re right: writing is writing, no matter what it is you’re working on. 🙂

    Happy reading and writing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

    1. I think it’s important to remind myself how much fun writing is when I get bogged down in the less fun parts 😀

      I know, right? People on Facebook were talking about it, and Facebook, for the most part is an entirely separate entity from Twitter. But at least people were talking about it!

  5. I have to agree with you: writing is writing. I’m in the same boat with my own writing. Sometimes it’s nice to revisit stories we’ve put on the back burner. Hey, all of it is a way to hone your craft, right?

    I really need to read A MAD, WICKED FOLLY. It looks so good! Have a great week, Stephanie!

  6. Sometimes it’s good to just write for fun without worrying about publication! 🙂

    The Twitter movement really is inspiring, even though it’s sad that it has to exist in the first place (and some of the responses – yuck). But it’s inspiring to see that so many people got involved and spoke out.

    Hope you have a great week!

  7. You guys have sales for Memorial Day!? That’s awesome! We do ANZAC Day in April, but Australia’s a relative cheapskate in that way, so sales don’t occur 😦

    And go you for writing something that potentially won’t ever see the light of day. Sometimes you just need to get those words out, dammit. Enjoy the rest of your week, Steph!

Leave a Reply

