What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #29

Tree70%What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

I had to return The Red Queen’s Daughter to the library before I could finish it, but the 100 pages I got through were super slow, so I wasn’t eager to finish it in a hurry, anyway. I was able to finish The Here and Now, which was an interesting time travel read that reminded me of Cristin Terrill’s All Our Yesterdays, although I didn’t connect to the characters quite as much as I would’ve liked.

IMG_0220

I’m almost done with The One now. Like the other books, it’s more an escape than anything else, although there is some character development in Celeste. Who is now my favorite character, because she’s so much more interesting than the others.

What I’m Writing

When I was at breakfast on Monday, I had an idea for a major plot point in FIRE that I’m super excited about. So, clearly, food is always the answer.

IMG_0229

Also, Jaime, Alison, Katy, and Erin are hosting Ready, Set, WRITE! again this summer! You can find more information about it here, and look out for everyone’s goal posts this Monday!

What Inspires Me Right Now

I guess we’ve already established that food inspired me this week.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Getting ready for school to be out! I’m already set to continue subbing next year if I don’t get a job, and to work Other Job exclusively all summer since, yet again, summer school is not a viable option for me. (Alas, all the summer school positions are in areas that I’m not qualified to teach.) This is really my last full week for the school year, since I’ll be gone every day except one next week – my sister is graduating from college and we’re also going to a concert (which was completely unrelated when we bought the tickets, but will be a nice celebration nonetheless).

14 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #29”

    1. My district seems to be moving to applicant pools for each content area, which is frustrating because there’s no way to tell how many people they might actually be interested in hiring. It is what it is, I guess.

  1. Food *is* always the answer. 😉 Awesome that you figured out a major plot point! For me, that’s usually the thing that lights a fire under me (no pun intended), so I expect it’s probably doing the same for you. Hope this week brings lots more of those kinds of breakthroughs. I also hope you’re able to find a teaching position for the fall. Same boat, right here. Fingers crossed, right?

  2. Woots you figured out a major plot point! 🙂 Go Steph! And love your tea mug, beautiful! I hope you’re able to find a teaching position this summer. What concert are you going to? I hardly go so I have to live vicariously through others.

  3. Congrats to your sister! I’m afraid to pick up another Ann Brashares’ book after the fifth SISTERHOOD book scarred me for life. If you haven’t read it, I won’t spoil anything, but I liked imagining the girls being teens for eternity and living happy lives 🙂

    1. THAT BOOK. OMG. It did make me really afraid of reading this one, but it ended on a hopeful, not tear-inducing note, so that was good. (But not entirely happy, so there’s that.)

  4. Food is always the answer. I don’t need to know or care about the question. Usually breakfast foods, I’ll be honest, but I’ll take anything if I’m hungry/celebratory enough.

    And GO YOU on your revisions/plot points! I think the key is just to keep eating delicious bacon and danishes…yes… ^_^

  5. Hmm, maybe that’s why they say breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Because it gives you delicious plot ideas! I really hope you’re able to land a teaching position in the fall, but in the meantime, enjoy your summer! I take it you’re on board for RSW? So glad you’re joining us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

