What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #30

Tree70%What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

I finally finished Anna Karenina! I can see why so many people love it so much, even if I wasn’t a particularly huge fan. It moved way too slow for me, and I wish it had been shorter. I also finished The One. Which was an escape, I guess, if nothing else.

Now I’m reading In Ashes Lie. I don’t normally read things about faeries, but I like the time periods in this series, so that wins.

What I’m Writing

I signed up for Ready, Set, Write! and posted my goals for the summer on Monday. I was able to get some stuff done on Monday, but not so much yesterday, in between traveling back and then having to go to work right after I got back. I ended up falling asleep at 7:30 last night and woke up at 7 this morning…

What Inspires Me Right Now

All the people who jumped in on Twitter with #PromoteaYAInstead in response to that Slate article! It made me happy to see all the people using it as an opportunity to talk about the books they love.

And for me personally, I still read YA because it’s so much more hopeful than adult literature. It doesn’t matter how dark things get in my favorite YA books, the hope that is in them always outweighs the darkness. And that’s an important thing to remember if we want that to be the kind of world we live in.

Also, I’m guessing that woman hasn’t spent a lot of time around teenagers. If she has, she wouldn’t be embarrassed at the thought of reading things created for them. So there.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

My sister's college graduation!
My sister’s college graduation! (Also, who knew Baby Bro knew how to dress himself?!)

 

10 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #30”

  1. Haha! I still haven’t read THE ONE yet, but I fully expect to have the same response to it as you did. You must be so relieved to have finished ANNA KARENINA. Twenty years from now when I’m done WAR AND PEACE, I’m sure I’ll feel the same way lol.

    I love that people are putting a more positive spin on this whole Slate thing. That’s what I’m tried to do too in my WUW post. I feel sorry for people who think they’re above something so awesome as YA. Hope you have a wonderful week, Stephanie! And that you feel refreshed after that good night’s sleep!

  2. Hope is definitely a thing I love about YA. I was also excited to see such a positive response on Twitter to that crappy article. Sadly, people like that who enjoy crapping on things for fun and profit will never change their minds. But they’re missing out on so much.

    Congrats to your sister!

    Good luck with your RSW goals. 🙂

  3. Good luck with RSW! I didn’t enjoy ANNA KARENINA too much either. I had a hard time getting through it. But at least I can cross it off the list. 😀

  4. Aww…congrats to your sister!

    One of these days I’ll read Anna Karenina and watch the movie, although I have a friend that hated it SO MUCH that it has made me a little afraid 🙂

    Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

