Ready Set Write!

RSW Update #1

RSWgoldpolaroid

How I Did On Last Week’s Goals

Hit and miss. I got words in three days last week, but between all the traveling and being burnt out from the end of the school year (probably), I spent a lot of time reading or asleep. Which is what I needed, I think.

My Goals For This Week

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Sunday, I want to write 500 words. The other days I’m going to be gone again, this time to a house full of people, so I already know I’m not going to get anything done.

A Favorite Line From My Story

From OPAQUE: “I had a difference of opinion with my uncle. We agreed to disagree – at least, I did. My uncle agreed to put a price on my head.”

The Biggest Challenge I Faced This Week

Finding the energy and motivation to write.

Something I Love About My WIP

All of the things are hitting the fan in FIRE right now, so I’m excited to work on those parts this week.

Song Of The Week

I saw The Script (for the second time!) on Thursday night, and when they did this one, it made me think about all of the things I want to do (find my own classroom, be an author) and how I’ll accomplish them if I only keep working hard enough at them.

This Week

  • Monday, June 16: 289 words on OPAQUE
  • Tuesday, June 17: 456 words on OPAQUE
  • Wednesday, June 18: one page handwritten on FIRE, for ~250 words; planned Chapter 26
  • Sunday, June 22: 0 words
20 thoughts on “RSW Update #1

  1. I hear you on the energy and motivation thing. I’m right there with you. I think you’ve set great goals for this week, especially knowing you’re going to be busy. Hope you have a productive week, Stephanie! Also, totally envious that you got to see The Script. Love them! (And that song in particular, especially the video. Gets me right in the feels every time.)

  2. This: “My uncle agreed to put a price on my head.” SO INTRIGUED!

    And yeah – finding time to write is going to be interesting, but fortunately my kiddos are old enough to occupy themselves for a couple hours while I get my butt in a chair. 🙂 Good luck with the goals and the writing time this week!

  3. Love the bit about (her?) mc’s uncle putting a price on her (their?) head! 🙂 Good luck finding the time to write, Steph, and soooo awesome you saw The Script live…multiple times! I have been a concert once? in my life (unless we count the one my parents dragged me to lol). 🙂

  4. Your line about the uncle has me super curious!

    School just ended last week in my county and all the teachers I know were like SLEEP! FINALLY, SLEEP! 🙂

    I like that you added a song of the week.

  5. Oh, you’re so lucky you got to see The Script! I love Hall of Fame! It’s such a motivational song and I think it’s great that they’re encouraging kids to chase their dreams and have confidence in themselves. I hope the extra sleep helps you recuperate and that writing goes well this week!

  6. “All of the things are hitting the fan in FIRE right now” Ha! Love this. Have fun writing all those “things” hitting that fan. 🙂

    Also … I checked out your Pinterest board for FIRE and I’m very intrigued. Love that you listed a bibliography and soundtrack, too. Gives me ideas for my own work …

Leave a Reply

