Book Reviews

Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour

AmyTitle: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour
Author: Morgan Matson
Genre: Young Adult – Contemporary
Publication Information: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2010
Age Recommendation: Middle School & High School

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

(Summary from Goodreads.)

I loved, loved, LOVED Second Chance Summer, so I knew I had to read this one. Morgan Matson didn’t disappoint.

I love road trip books. This is probably my new favorite one, just because of how well all of Amy and Roger’s adventures came to life. It felt like we were on the trip with them. Also, all of the playlists and other extras (pictures, receipts, etc.) added a nice touch. It made me want to go on a road trip again, and reminded me of why I prefer driving to flying.

Amy and Roger were both great characters, also. Amy seemed very realistic, which made her that much easier to feel for. I rooted for her to put herself back together the entire book. I also really loved Roger, who was sweet but encouraged Amy to come out of her shell. Also, they met a collection of interesting people along the way, and they were memorable – something that can be hard to do with secondary characters.

This one reminded me a lot of The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour – with the road trip and the main character trying to figure out where to go from here. I would also recommend it if you loved Second Chance Summer but want the feels without the ugly crying.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

4 thoughts on “Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour”

  1. This is one of my all-time favourite contemporary reads. You know, next time I read it, I think I’m going to listen to the playlist songs at the start of each chapter before reading that particular chapter. That would be so much fun! This is making me want to reread it now… 😀

Leave a Reply

