Ready Set Write!

RSW Update #4

RSWgoldpolaroidHow I Did On Last Week’s Goals

One of my goals last week was to write every day, which I didn’t do, because I got caught up in doing research instead. I also wanted to finish critiquing a couple MSs I’m in the middle of, which I also didn’t accomplish. I guess I did still get a lot done, just not with the things I was planning to.

My Goals For This Week

  • Add 2500 new words to FIRE. [RESEARCH IS NOT WRITING, Self.]
  • Add 1000 new words to OPAQUE.
  • Finish critiquing Emma’s MS, since that was supposed to be done, like, a week ago. [For which you have my ETERNAL APOLOGIES, Emma!]
  • Revise the first chapter of FIRE for the chapter critique I won from the YA Buccaneers Boot Camp.

[Obviously, I’m hearkening back to my teacher training with specific, measurable goals, etc.]

One Phrase That Sums Up What I Wrote

Lol wut?

The Biggest Challenge I Faced This Week

My brain wandering off to prepping for revisionland, which is nice and all, except I actually need to finish the draft in order to have something to revise.

Something I Love About My WIP

Part of the reason I ended up in researchland is because I need to bulk up on world building in FIRE. Which is how I ended up on Wikipedia, reading the entire American Frontier article (which is very LONG, by the way), and bookmarking others to read later so I wouldn’t end up in the Wikipedia Vortex. The history of the frontier was my first love before medieval history wooed me away (thank you, Laura Ingalls Wilder), so it’s been interesting reading.

Song Of The Week [Oh yes. It’s back.]

SORRY I’M NOT SORRY.

This Week

  • Monday, July 7: Finished reading that gloriously lengthy article about the frontier.
  • Tuesday, July 8: FIRE world building + OPAQUE research
  • Wednesday, July 9: FIRE world building
  • Thursday, July 10: FIRE research [Salem witch trials awww yeah]
  • Friday, July 11: Finished beta read of MS; revised FIRE chapter for critique
  • Saturday, July 12: 628 words on OPAQUE + wrote a real, actual outline for this first draft
  • Sunday, July 13: 542 words on OPAQUE + 1068 words on FIRE
22 thoughts on “RSW Update #4”

  1. I think research is a really important part of writing, so it’s not really wasted. Well, unless you end up falling down some random rabbit hole unrelated to where you started in the first place. Been there too many times lol. Sometimes you just have to get that pesky research done to see any forward movement with your writing. My goals shifted a bit this week too, and I think that’s okay. Here’s hoping this week is productive for both of us! 😀

  2. It’s funny how most writers (myself included) don’t count research towards our writing goals. If we did, we’d give ourselves a lot more credit. Maybe it doesn’t seem like research should count as work because it’s so interesting (fun, in other words.)

  3. Research is writing, IMHO! Or at least I count it. 😉 Good luck with all the goals this week! You can do it!

  4. I WISH research counted as writing. I’ve written a ton of words in my world-building files but, alas, no actual story yet.

    Also, LOL WUT? is pretty much how I describe all my first drafts. Thank goodness revisions can translate that into something better.

    Good luck with this week’s goals!

  5. ‘Lol wut?’ describes things so perfectly. It’s so easy to get lost in research. I personally love doing it because you get to learn so much along the way. Too bad it doesn’t count as writing. If it were up to me, it would haha. Good luck with your goals this week. Hopefully it’s a little more productive. 🙂

  6. I too wish research counted as writing! 😛 I love that you ended up sucked in — I think we all do, too. I often find myself looking up later at the time and going WOW how did it get so late? 🙂 Good luck with your goals this week and hope you are a little productive towards the writing bit but know that everything ends up in a way with your WIP 😛

  7. You gotta love it when you get distracted from your goals by doing other totally productive things. I’m sure all the research will make your writing that much better, even if the actual word count happens a bit later than planned. I grew up on a steady diet of Little House on the Prairie, so I can see why you’d love studying the American Frontier. Hey, I’m Canadian and I find it interesting! Good luck with your goals this week!

Leave a Reply

