Ready Set Write!

RSW Update #5

RSWgoldpolaroidHow I Did On Last Week’s Goals

I hit 3/4 goals, so that felt good. I revised Chapter One of FIRE, finished beta’ing a MS, added 1100 words to OPAQUE, and added 1000 words to FIRE (out of the 2500 I’d hoped for).

You can see last week’s post for specifics.

My Goals For This Week

  • Read through the next scene of FIRE and make notes.
  • Finish beta’ing Rebecca’s MS.
  • Add 1000 words to OPAQUE.
  • Add 2500 words to FIRE.
  • Finish all of the hard copy library books I have out so I don’t have to worry about due dates when I leave for vacation next week!

A Favorite Line

So I ran, and left everyone else to die. 

[I’m not identifying which WIP this is from MUHAHAHA.]

The Biggest Challenge I Faced This Week

THE HEAT. UGH. It’s been 80+ degrees all week, which I realize has many of you going LOL FOREVER but that’s ridiculously hot for a place that normally only sees heat like this for a day or two at a time so residential areas with air conditioners are unicorns, basically. (I read a joke one time that says you know you’re from Washington when you know more people with boats than you know people with air conditioners. This is actually a fact.)

Basically, it’s been a challenge not to lie on my bedroom floor all day questioning my will to live.

Something I Love About My WIP

I spent some time earlier this week writing up the history of my city-state in FIRE. It reminded me of all those hours in middle school I spent reading the appendices at the end of my copy of The Return of the King, which I realize makes me a huge nerd but it’s also part of the reason I wanted to write fantasy, so I could make up all these cool things.

Song of the Week

This Week

  • Monday, July 14: added 574 words to FIRE [get Ke$ha on this because IT’S GOING DOWN] + read/made notes on what will be Chapter 2 in the next draft
  • Tuesday, July 15: 0 words
  • Wednesday, July 16: added 197 words to FIRE
  • Thursday, July 17: 0 words
  • Friday, July 18: read five chapters
  • Saturday, July 19: read two chapters
  • Sunday, July 20
17 thoughts on “RSW Update #5

  1. Great goals for this week, Stephanie! You’re doing so much better at meeting your goals than I have been. Especially considering you’re splitting your time between multiple projects. (I am too, but I’m kind of sucking at it.) I hear you on the heat too. We’ve had pretty steady hot temps here as well, and AC is not overly common in houses here either. We just have all the windows open, which is great until someone decides to have a campfire in their backyard, which is ALL THE TIME. Since I’d prefer not to have my house smell like a firepit, that means closing the windows and suffering. Boo. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I hope it cools down a teensy bit for both of us. Have a great week!

    1. Our…downstairs windows don’t open. At all. And I probably wouldn’t sleep with my bedroom window open since it’s downstairs, but it would still be nice to have the option! But yes. I hope it cools down, too. But not too much 🙂

  2. I find it hard to write on hot days, because they’re kind of a rarity in the UK, so few places have air con (and I live in the attic, which is the warmest room in the house in summer!). Good luck with your goals this week!

    1. Ugh, the attic sounds like it wouldn’t be fun in the summer. And it’s probably really cold in the winter, right? Now I’m thinking of A Little Princess, which I have a sudden desire to reread…

  3. I love your library book reading goal. I have four that are all do back within the next two weeks and I need to do something about that. Heh.

    Also, WOW on all the progress! Your 3/4 sounds like a lot! Great job! And I hope you have a wonderful (and cool!) week!

    1. I had a completely ridiculous amount out at one point because all of my holds came in at once. Most of them had to be returned unread. It made me sad. I’ll have to be more reasonable when I get back from vacation 😉

  4. Your regular temps must be where Virginia’s cooler than normal ones came from. It’s only supposed to be in the 70s this week, which I am a-ok with.

    Your line!!! I’m so curious now!

    I’ve got a stack of library books I need to get through, too. Good luck with yours!

  5. First of all, that’s a super line from your WIP! It sure has me intrigued! Also, you had a lot of goals last week, so you did really well! I’m totally with you on not being able to handle the heat. We haven’t had a ton of hot weather yet on the prairies this summer, but the little bit we’ve had has made me really ill. Blah. I wish it was fall all year long. I hope you get some relief from the heat wave soon and that you get lots done on your goals this week!

  6. Oh man writing appendixes like for the Lord of the Rings? That just made me all kinds of happy. I love doing that kind of backstory too.

    I really like your idea of tracking what you’re doing daily, too!

  7. I love the world-building aspect of fantasy too! 🙂 80 degrees is warm around here, but I definitely get the whole heat-is-a-distraction thing because it is so hard to want to do ANYTHING when it’s hot. And that’s not even talking about the humidity! Eck!

    Anyway, you did pretty great on your goals this week. Here’s to another productive week!

    P.S. Thanks for your nice comment re: the verse novel. I…don’t know what made me think this was a good idea, lol, but now I’m committed!

Leave a Reply

