What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #33

Tree70%

What I’m Reading

I finished The Taking, as well as breezing through Free to Fall by Lauren Miller and Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour. All of them were excellent, but the one that really stood out to me was Everything Leads to You. It was just like any other contemporary romance, with a female main character who just happened to be into girls. It was A thing about her, instead of THE thing about her, and I really hope we see more and more of these stories.

IMG_0485

Now I’m in the middle of Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy. I really like it, although I haven’t decided yet how I feel about Alice.

What I’m Writing

A lot more than last week! I did some world building, some revision, some drafting, some rewriting, and some beta’ing. Basically, I hit every part of the writing process. You can read more here.

Also, I decided not to send out any more queries for SHARDS, and instead focus on getting FIRE in querying shape by the end of the year. I’ve still got the MS out with a couple of agents, so I’m waiting to hear back from them. But I’m not overly optimistic. I got several requests, so that was encouraging. But ultimately, this MS just wasn’t the one. And that’s okay. Writing a book is still something to be proud of!

What Inspires Me Right Now

Focusing on my writing some more last week, which I was able to do because I only worked three days last week. I’m trying to focus on controlling the things I can control, and right now, that’s writing. I can’t make anyone want to hire me or represent my work, but I CAN work on making my writing the best it can be.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Celebrating my roommate’s birthday last week!

IMG_0458

12 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #33”

  1. Writing a book is absolutely something to be proud of! 🙂 I shelved my last MS for the same reason, and I’m hoping my MG fantasy is the “one”. YES, absolutely focus on the things you can control – like the words on the page! 🙂

  2. You’ve been do so well meeting your writing goals! I’m very impressed. And I think you’ve got an awesome mindset about querying and when to move on. It’s hard, but you nailed it right on the head: Writing a book IS something to be proud of! That said, crossing my fingers that someone surprises you in the end! Have a wonderful week, Stephanie! 😀

  3. Wow, that’s all kinds of writing you’re getting up to. Enjoy!

    That sounds like good logic to live by. Take charge of what you can be in charge of, and put everything else aside.

    Have a great week!

  4. Those sound like great books! The covers are awesome too. Good job on the writing 🙂 Sounds busy. And where you’re at with querying sounds like my manuscript. I have it out with a couple, but no super hopeful. I know it should be published, but I’m not sure it’s the right timing. But you’re right, having it in the first place is awesome! And focusing on another project definitely helps. The birthday pic looks like fun 🙂 Have a great week!

  5. Yay for being so productive last week! That’s awesome! 🙂 You’re right about writing a book being something to be proud of. Not many people can say they did that, so it’s definitely an accomplishment. I love your inspiration section. It’s better to focus on the things we can control over the things we can’t. Doing that is less stressful and less time-consuming. Have a good week!

  6. I haven’t read “Everything Leads to You” yet, but I like what you said about her liking girls not being THE THING about her, just one part of who she is. I feel like some many “issues” books are too one topic focused. People are always complicated, and characters should be too. So I’m happy to hear this book got it right and has a complex character with a lot of things about her. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Have a great week.

  7. Full requests is something to be proud of too. A huge something! So congrats! And like you said, not every book is the one, and that’s okay. You’ve got a lot of experience under your belt now.

  8. I love the cover of Everything Leads to You and hope to read it soon. Happy to hear you enjoyed it so much!

    And your attitude about querying is great. You are too right. Having a finished book is nothing to make light of. Good job, and good luck with your next query! 🙂

    P.S. Love the photo at the end. Very cute.

  9. Focusing on what you can control- making your writing the best it can be- I really like that. As long as we work hard, our writing will get better. And it’s way better to look at the positive that way then getting negative over rejections. Thanks for that! You’ve totally uplifted me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

