What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #35

WUWApple2*dusts off blog*

WHAT IS UP. I honestly don’t remember when the last time I did WUW was (but I think it was sometime this summer?), but I can assure you all that I’m alive. So hooray for that.

What I’m Reading

Right now I’m reading The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters, which I was super excited to get from the library because I loved her debut, In the Shadow of Blackbirds, so much. It’s got the same creepy vibe Blackbirds did, and so far I’m loving it because I’m obsessed with the women’s suffrage movement, and also it’s set in Portland, which is one of my favorite cities ever.

What I’m Writing

I’m doing NaNo and, per tradition, am about 10k down. I’m doing a rewrite of the WIP I won with in 2007, and it involves genocide and demons and is loosely based on a combination of Ancient Rome and the Trail of Tears, so there’s that.

I’m also revising FROM THE ASHES (formerly FIRE). So far I’ve managed to take a bunch of redundant scenes toward the beginning and condense them so the pacing in my first fifty pages has much improved. I’m also going to be rewriting the ending, since I realized I ended it in the wrong place.

IMG_0802

What Works For Me

Meeting up with a friend of mine every week is helpful in keeping me accountable, since I’m supposed to have new things to show her each time we meet. Also, it lends itself to helpful conversations about characters and where to end the story and such, although today we talked about the logistics of booze so really, heavy stuff going on.

IMG_0893

What Else Is New

I got super busy with school for awhile, since there were A TON of trainings for teachers and I was working almost every day for about a month or so. Now it seems to be slowing down, but now things are picking up with my other job since we’re heading into the holidays (like Thanksgiving DOESN’T EVEN EXIST) and that’s the REALLY, REALLY FUN part of the year for retail. (*guzzles more caffeine*)

SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS
SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS

Also, my roommate got a cat, who I have been training to high five me because I’ve got my priorities in order, clearly.

FEED ME, HUMAN.
FEED ME, HUMAN.

And, of course, adventures in Target. Because I have a problem and I was there three days in a row over the weekend.

#turndownforrudolph
#turndownforrudolph
6 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #35”

  1. Hi Stephanie! It’s been a long time, nearly a year since I stopped by I think!

    Revising AND doing Nano at the same time is crazy, and I salute you for that! I’m curious about the logistics of booze stuff. Does that include who makes the booze, who buys the booze, who transports the booze where, and who drinks the booze? 😉

  2. I really need to check out both of those books by Cat Winters. Nice to know they’re good because the premises sounds interesting. Hmm, might even have to add them to my Christmas list.

    Good luck with NaNo and braving the upcoming holiday retail season! 🙂

Leave a Reply

