YA Superlatives Blogfest

Class of 2014: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 1

Once again, Jessica Love, Alison Miller, Tracey Neithercott, and Katy Upperman are hosting the YA Superlatives Blogfest so we can all highlight our favorite 2014 releases. Hooray!

class-of-2014_banner

Day 1 — Head of the Class

All book covers link to Goodreads pages.

Favorite Dystopian

RedRising

Red Rising was like The Hunger Games meets A Game of Thones on Mars with Roman mythology. It was brutal, and the characters spend a lot of time in a moral gray area, but once things got going about fifty pages in, they never let up. Lots of plot twists, and the world building is fantastic, and I am definitely not emotionally prepared to read the sequel when it comes out next month.

Favorite Science Fiction

StillBlue

I’m still in denial that this series is over, so obviously the only solution is to reread it.

My Review Here

Favorite Fantasy

HoF

Heir of Fire might be the best installment in this series yet, to be honest, and I’m so glad there are still three more books to look forward to. I was emotionally exhausted after finishing this book, but it still wasn’t long enough. Also, Celaena and Rowan are my BroTP forever and ever.

Favorite Contemporary

EverythingLeadstoYou

I read A LOT of contemporaries this year. Like, more than I did fantasy, which has never happened in the history of ever. Everything Leads to You stood out to me because of its focus on friends and family, as well as its Hollywood setting. Also, I loved that Emi being into girls was just one thing about her, instead of the only thing about her. Her romance(s) were a big part of the story, but not the most important part. Also, I will read everything Nina LaCour writes.

Favorite Action/Adventure

Erased

I feel like this series is hugely underrated, which is sad, because it’s so AWESOME. I loved how much more we learned about Nick in this one, and I’m really glad he’s getting his own book.

My Review

Favorite Historical Fiction

AMWF

A Mad, Wicked Folly seamlessly combines character development, family drama, art, and the women’s suffrage movement. I never wanted it to end.

My Review

Favorite Mystery

DontLookBack

I couldn’t turn the pages of this one fast enough. I loved how well Armentrout combined Sam’s wish for a second chance with her desire to figure out what really happened to her.

Favorite Romance

EverythingLeadstoYouFavorite Paranormal

SplitSecond

This one was super fun, and I liked it a lot more than the previous book.

Favorite Genre Bender

Cruel Beauty

Cruel Beauty was part fairytale, part myth, and part fantasy, and I loved how all of those elements worked together in this story. I alsoย liked the romance, even though Nyx and Ignifex brought out the worst in each other – it was really interesting watching that dynamic play out.

My Review

10 thoughts on “Class of 2014: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 1”

  1. I initially had CRUEL BEAUTY under Genre Bender too, then swapped it out with another. (I read another Beauty and the Beast retelling this past year that I loved so much more.) A MAD, WICKED FOLLY is the only 2014 YA Historical I read this year, but it doesn’t matter because it was awesome enough to win this category anyway. Wasn’t it great? You’ve reminded me that I still need to get to SPLIT SECOND. I enjoyed the first one, so it’s nice to hear this is a good follow-up. Great list, Stephanie! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I completely forgot about Erased and Split Second! I read the first books last year and loved both of them! Thanks for the reminder and thrilled to hear the sequels are just as good (or better???)

  3. I am a big fan of Everything Leads to You so I loved seeing it on this list twice! And some of these books I’ve not heard of – so glad you fixed that for me!

    Thanks for joining in, Stephanie! Can’t wait to see your picks tomorrow!

  4. I’m kicking myself for not reading EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU over the last year. I adore Nina LaCour’s writing. Definitely going to the top of my 2015 reading list. Thanks for joining us for the blogfest, Stephanie!

  5. I’ve only read one book on your list… and a lot of them sound amazing. I purchased Red Rising on sale the other day but haven’t read it yet. Might need to read some light fluff first, it looks like. I didn’t realize Don’t Look Back was a mystery but now that I’ve read your blurb I think it needs to go in the TBR mountain too ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

